Cityscape Photo Contest - Week 4

This is my entry into the Cityscape Photo Contest run by @axeman and sponsored by @partiko

The highest vantage point from which to view the city of Coimbra, Portugal is the University clock tower. It's only 34 meters tall but since the university itself is built right at the top of the highest hill in the city the views around are unparalled...that is if you can manage to climb the 180 extremely claustrophic stairs to the top - at some points the stairwell is so narrow that my camera bag was rubbing on the wall behind me as I nervously proceeded upwards. I probably should have taken greater heed of the warning that the visit was not suitable for vertigo sufferers. Got the shot though :-)

DSC_2554-Pano-Edit.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

My entry is a panorama created from three images shot handheld with my Nikon D7000 and Sigma 17-50mm lens and was processed in Adobe Lightroom.


A few bonus photos for you!

The city of Coimbra as viewed from the banks of the Mondego river - the University and the clock tower are visible top left:

DSC_2460.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

The University and former royal palace:

DSC_2592.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

Three more views from the top:

DSC_2578.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

DSC_2579.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

DSC_2582.jpg
click on the image to view full screen


More photos of Portugal on my blog

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency