CABLE TV: Why?

Was doing a bit of curating this morning and found a post by the King of Pump, @trumpman. He wrote an introductory post to the new CINETV.IO community.

I received an airdrop of $CINE tokens and was not sure what they were. Now I know!

I do watch a great deal of TV shows and movies, but I do not have cable TV. In my opinion, it is a waste of money. With the internet and streaming I can get the same thing for free! Of course, I must pay my internet provider every month.

I purchased one of those Firesticks from Amazon for about $30.00 USD. I do not use any of the paid subscriptions they offer. It is a lot less bulky than hooking up a computer to my TV.

There are so many streaming options, here are a few that I use:

  • AMAZON.COM (Not really free as I pay an annual subscription, but Prime Video is one of the perks of having a PRIME account.)

  • NETFLIX.COM (I have free subscription through my mobile phone plan with T-Mobile)

  • HAYSTACK.TV (News from all over the world. Totally free unless you wish to customize it to your area.)

  • PLUTO.TV (Totally free, don't even need to register unless you wish to customize it.)

  • PLEX.TV (Totally free, don't even need to register unless you wish to customize it.)

  • YOUTUBE.COM (They have many free movies with advertisements. I have a free account.)

These streaming sites can also be accessed through one's mobile phone browser, laptop, or desktop computer as well.

My favorite shows to watch are The Beverly Hillbillies, Bonanza, and The Rifleman. Yes, I am a boomer and like the shows from the 1960s and 1970s. Takes me back to my youth and simpler times. As far as movies, I like Westerns.

As you can see, I really have no need to pay a monthly cable bill in addition to my internet bill. Why pay for redundancy? The money I save I can use to buy $HIVE and, dare I say it, $CINE tokens!

I am very happy to see this new Tribe. I used to really enjoy the movie reviews that @bliss11 used to do. I wonder if she has joined this community yet? I will have to check.

Appreciate everyone that has stopped by to check out my first post on CINETV. I wish everyone blessings and groovy vibes today and everyday!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency