Can someone point me to a good sci fi? All ours have been destroyed

I'm a massive fan of sci-fi. Like, you have no idea how big of a fan I am. If it was socially acceptable in my area to go to a Sci Fi convention you'd bet I'd be walking in there in full gear, dressed as Dr Who or one of my other favourites.

It's also something I hid away from my friends in childhood. If they'd even sniff that I was watching Stargate or the likes I would have probably been laughed at and pointed at. Well, not my real friends of course. I've since realised they have stuck with me whatever the case.

But as a teenager nothing beat rushing home from college to catch an episode of Star Trek, and then before bed a nice catch up with Stargate SG1. I was super pumped when they made Stargate into a series, it was one of the best things they could have done with that film -- and the opportunities were almost limitless. They could now release a plethora of goa'uld enemies and have several seasons of work ahead of them great!

They even managed two spin-offs. Didn't much like Stargate Universe, but I hear they are reshaping that in the future. A bit of a waste of Robert Carlyle in my opinion.

Trailer was awesome, series execution was not quite what I expected. I like it when they have new technology to test out rather than a sci-fi survival series which this one was.

Sadly, all my favourites from the Stargate Universe are long but gone, and we are left to deal with whatever the hell Star Wars and Star Trek has become.

Just to be clear, you're talking to a man, that as a kid, knew all the dialogue to Star Wars IV, V & VI. I had watched those films so many times that even now whenever I see a cut of one of those movies I know all that's going to happen. I loved them, those were my lifeblood as a young boy. I essentially wanted to be a Jedi! If only a dream!

Star Trek too. By god did I love the tense dynamic between the crew of the original series, and also The Next Generation. And boy did the TNG introduce some new, but terribly frightening enemies. All of us that watched Star Trek would understand the dangers of The Borg. Perhaps the Borg was a writers interpretation and euphemism for communism. Who knows?

Probably the worst thing that has ever happened to my enjoyable sci fi experiences is that it has become woke beyond belief and now favours propaganda and virtue signalling over robust and hard hitting storylines. Now it is all about speaking down to their audiences as if they aren't aware of the social issues around them.

The interesting thing about woke media is that I don't think they fully understand that sci fi movies were able to ask all the challenging ethical and morality questions way before this absolute bollocks came around. Just take Battlestar Gallactica more than two decades ago when they balanced ethics and morals on a knife edge where it came to killing people that were just trying to survive

They were going to murder this man. Throw him right out the airlock. Because he joined the other side and was trying to put food on his table. They would have killed him otherwise. And now, faced with being killed again, they realise that he had risked his life to save everyone. It's messy, and that's why I loved this.

But woke propaganda paints and entirely different picture. There is only one evil and there is no point in trying to understand why that evil exists. No point. It's just bad and it should be eradicated. No deeper thoughts, nothing.

And sadly that leads to really bad writing. Or, the really bad writing has led to this sort of "pop woke psychology" we see on films where there is virtually no deeper questioning. It just exists, and is.

I really do miss the good questions of the past, rather than the "white man bad" that we see now.

And then we have the whole scenario where you can't criticise the changes they make because if you do then you don't like the [insert label here]. One such series doing this was Doctor Who only a couple of years ago where Chris Chibnall turned Doctor Who from a Universe hopping super being to a poorly written load of shit. Yes, I'm talking about Jodie Whittaker. I'm not criticising her of course, I think she was given a bad hand by a poor writer and wasn't able to properly merge into her role like other actors were able to.

Buuut, if you didn't like the new season then obvvvvvvvviously it was because you didn't like women. No thought to the other strong women that have played amazingly great lead roles in the past, no, it's obviously because the audience of Dr Who is terrible chauvinistic and must be purged from their viewership.

On a side note, I'd love to see Michelle Gomez as The Doctor if we were to go for a woman, and with great writing that would be a winner

But alas, what we have now is poor acting, poor screenwriting, and you can't criticise it because you'll be labelled as a misogynist!

So!

On that note. Does anyone know any good sci fi I can watch? Because my current watches have been wrecked.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency