What to do if you get constant notifications from Chrome on your Android device (spam notifications)?

Earlier today my wife told me that she suddenly started to get lots of pop-ups on her phone. I got worried and I quickly installed an antivirus scanner on the phone. It told me the phone wasn't infected.

Then I installed Malwarescanner and ran the program, but it didn't give me any hits either. So, I was stuck, because while I was scanning the phone and looking for suspicious stuff, those pop-ups just kept hitting me. What was the problem? How did I fix it?

browser-773216_1280.jpg

Get rid of those annoying notifications in Chrome

In the end I understood that the problem was the Chrome browser itself. Somehow it had been given permissions to show permissions from lots of websites on the Android device, and that is why the phone was bombarded with those all the time.

To get rid of them, I did the following:

  1. I opened the Chrome browser and clicked Settings.
  2. I scrolled down to "Basics" and there I found the "Notifications" option.

As you scroll down, you will see a long list of what kind of notifications Chrome is allowed to show on your device. And you will also find a list of websites that are allowed to show notifications to you. The best is simply to turn off the permissions to all websites, but you can also manually decide which websites should be allowed to show notifications and which websites shouldn't be allowed to show notifications.

But, based on this, I was able to solve the problem and now the annoying notifications from Google Chrome on the Android phone are gone!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency