This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

UNUSUAL CHRISTMAS ORNAMENT'S

IMG_1067.jpg

Hi guys, with Christmas starting to wind up, the better half wanted to do some decoration shopping. You can find some very unusual ornament's, everything from an Owl to a...............

IMG_1134.jpg

Yep a Christmas pickle!
So this is where @silvertop gets to tell you the story!!!

They say in German folklore there is a custom called Weihnachtsgurke. A pickle-shaped ornament is hidden in the Christmas tree, and the person that finds the pickle will have good luck the next year!
I see this display of the Christmas pickle every year in a lot of stores up here in the Northwest, and it really got me curious........
The reason that this Christmas pickle keeps me looking sideways is that I have never heard of the " Christmas Pickle "
So ...........this sounds like a big deal in Germany................ Maybe.......... Maybe Not!!!!
My Grandmother and Grandfather came over to the USA on cattle boats from the old country.... Germany, and no one in my family ever celebrated anything to do with a pickle LOL!!!

So I went looking, and I read that in 2016 a survey conducted revealed over 90% of Germans have never heard of the Christmas pickle!
There is this non- documented story about a civil war German-born Union soldier named John Lower, who was a prisoner and starving. A guard gave him a pickle to eat and he survived his imprisonment; hence this is where the story comes from. After the war, he supposedly carried on this tradition with his family.

So as cute as this Pickle is, I have to say myth busted !!!!!

I hope you enjoyed this @silvertop!!!!

Logo
Center