Christmas gift shopping at local fairs


Most people love Christmas for the food, the gifts, seeing old friends and family you haven't seen in awhile or getting money from grandma. Well I love it for all those reasons too but there is something else I tend to look forward to. Christmas Fairs. Yes, those short lived weekend market places where small family owned businesses pay for booths and pedal their wares.

I just came back from the 2019 Jamaica Christmas held in Kingston at the AC Marriott hotel. One thing that can sometimes be disappointing about these fairs are the limited offerings. Usually everyone tends to sell same things, handmade ornaments and jewelry. This year however i was pleasantly surprised to see a lot of new things. Things I actually bought for myself.

They had everything from paintings, to vegan chocolate to handmade rugs with custom images and messages to children's books, dolls, flavoured cooking oil, the list is endless. This year the fair was nicely laid out in a spacious grid so you never ever felt overwhelmed by a thick crowd.



The next thing that made this fair great was the affordability. It cost US$8 to enter and you were given about $5 in vouchers you could redeem at any stall. Unfortunately it was not STEEM or @reggaesteem but hey, maybe someday. All the booths had very reasonably priced items. I ended getting organic chocolate with entirely local made ingredients which actually tasted good. roasted saltfish and a book for my son.

Have you done your christmas shopping yet? Where are you going to shop this christmas an what kinds of gifts are you going to get. Let me know in the comments. I am looking for ideas for my wife, parents, son and siblings. In another post I am going to go in depth about the items I bought so stay tuned.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency