Waiting for movies in China

image

I just watched black panther after seeing it talked about in the news and social media for weeks and weeks. One of the downsides to living in China is waiting an extra month or two for movies to hit the cinema!

I remember when I first arrived here and the first gardians of the galaxy was just about to come out. I was so excited until I learned China always releases later as they need to check, edit and add subtitles. I had to wait about three months to see it! People kept laughing randomly and reacting strangely to it. I read online a few weeks later that they messed up the subtitles really bad, they got most of it wrong so I think Chinese people watched guardians of the galaxy completely different to the rest of the world haha.

image

I was pretty shocked when I first went to the cinema in China.... People were coming in a few minutes late and using there phone lights to find their seats. I kept getting blinded by lights as people walked past!

Phones kept ringing and people kept answering them. People don't just answer with a quick whisper of 'I'm in the cinema, I'll call you back later.' They shout down the phone and have a full conversation like they're at home. It's so bizzare.

image

There are so many movies coming out that I want to see in the cinema so I really don't want to download them and see them on a small screen in bad quality but the cinema experience you get in other countries just isn't the same.

People always leave as soon as the movies are finished so I'm always the guy who's last out hoping to see a cheeky extra bit after the credits like marvel movies usually have. So as black panther's credits started rolling everybody got up to leave as I sat there waiting for an extra clip, the projector just f#*%in turned off! I was gutted haha if anybody is reading this please tell me what happens after the credits! If I was in England I'd ask for my money back but I wouldn't even try it here. Almost everytime I'm waiting after a movie the staff and cleaner come in and ask me to leave so they can clean for the next show and when I say I'm waiting to see if there's any extra clips, they always say there aren't any but there usually is haha it's weird....

image

Watching western tv shows in China is pretty funny as they edit heavily, especially shows like game of thrones with all the sex scenes cut out. There's alot of inportant talk and plotting as characters are naked so if you watch game of thrones in China you'd be pretty confused haha some hour episodes will be nearly half the time! Without hearing all the plots the show seems like the characters are just doing random things, so of course I download shows from western websites that aren't blocked :D

Thanks for reading and I hoped you enjoyed hearing about the Chinese cinema experience! :D

image

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now