What to do on a Snow Day

Well, tomorrow might be a
image

As we’re prepared to finally have our first snow day this school year, it’s time to prep for our favorite way to make the day go by and not everyone go crazy with cabin fever!

When I was a little girl, my stepmom had this tote stuffed under our bed full of construction paper and material scraps, balloons, crepe paper, glitter, glue, and many many more various art supplies. We called it our rainy day box. I always loved getting into this box on the days when planning outside was just not an option.

Now as a mom, my kids and I have many draws and totes filled with various art and science supplies to express our creativity and keep our minds curious.

However, I like to keep things a bit more structured on snow days or rainy days otherwise my anxiety will get the best of me. So, this is how I’ve structured these days throughout the years raising my own kids.
image

I stagger projects for us to do throughout the day, allowing them first to sleep in, wake up and decide if they’re getting dressed or staying in pajamas all day. Then beginning at 9 a.m. they take a post-it off the wall and see what’s in store for the next hour or two. The day is pleasant, everyone stays sane, the creativity flows and chores still get completed without a hassle.

Here are a few examples I’ve used in the past
image
image
image
image

I hope you consider doing this with your kids the next time you’re stuck indoors! Share with me some of your ideas!

We also include making snow-cream on our list but I’ll blog about that tomorrow after the BIG SNOW!

Enjoy your family time!

Blessings,
❤️Sandy aka @CountryHeart

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now