This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

My opinion of the Charmed Reboot Trailer.

I have just finally sat down and watched the reboot trailer of Charmed, to see what all the fuss was about. I have to say that I did not really want to watch the trailer, as personally I felt that the reboot was still too new. I mean 12 years since the finish of the original series, and I had heard some things about it.

They're not bringing back original cast members.

Credit Giphy

I could not believe it, when I had heard the news that none of the original cast were invited back to play a role in the series?? This confused the hell out of me, as there were so many original storylines which could have been continued.

Whats more is that now that Shannen Doherty and Alyssa Milano finally reached adult hood and put there differences aside due to Shannen having cancer, this could have opened up new doors for the show.

Credit Giphy

Before we go further lets look at the new trailer shall we.

Now I get the need to bring charmed back I really do, but here is what I don't understand. The reboot has no connection to the original charmed series that went on for 8 years. Thats a long time for a series to have gone on which people grew up watching, and when it ended were left almost heartbroken.

Credit Giphy

I have absolutely no disrespect against the new actresses, of course they will be feeling the pressure to see if they are going to be up to the job of the original cast, I certainly would not want to be in their shoes, but seriously come on, why do it this way??

CW surely must have some idea that this will majorly piss of original die hard charmed fans who will not entertain the reboot on account of the wrong way they have gone about creating the new show.

The cast have been rather quiet since the trailer was launched, but here was an earlier tweet that Holly Marie Combs tweeted back last January.

source

We also know back in January that Alyssa and Rose Mcgowan did not entertain the reboot also, Alyssa said it was much too soon, while Rose's persona has completely changed she has given up acting and is very much part of the metoo movement against Harvey Weinstein, but she did quote asking if Hollywood was running out of things to write.

To top it off Rose Mcgowan has openly admitted she does not trust Milano or Milano's husband following a recent interview calling Alyssa a Lie.

source

So given the fact of this we would not see the power of four return to the screens any time soon, but saying that original cast member Shannen Doherty was intrigued by the idea of the reboot, but now I wonder on her thoughts after the trailer.

What are CW even thinking??

CW have recently brought out some amazing programmes over the last few years such as the originals and Supergirl, but to do something like this worries and annoys me. I look at the amount of downvotes vs the upvotes for the trailers and the downvotes outweigh the upvotes.

I can only see this as suicide for any charmed series now past or present, and effectively it would ruin the name and reputation, sometimes I am a little enthusiastic about a show of this type, but to blatantly just repeat the same old storyline, and give no credit to the original show makers, cast and fanbase they have a lot to prove to be so gutsy to pull such a show.

In a recent interview one of the new cast starts Sarah Jeffrey answered a question put about fans of the original show feeling angry about the reboot and answered.

“It doesn’t hurt to give it a go. We’re very respectful and aware of the original, and we totally appreciate it, and we’re so grateful to have the opportunity to put a current spin on it.”

source

What I have decided to do.

The trailer can never give the shows true intepretation, personally I believe that the show should have been given a different name altogether, and the storyline could have been related to the original series.

We saw this before when two seasons of Witches of East End were aired but sadly were never continued, i do believe this has a lot to do with strength of the original Charmed Series again so I don't understand what makes CW think this could be pulled off.

Credit Giphy

Never the less I will watch the first episode and judge it on its own performance, but I already confess that it will be bitter sweet to watch when I can see all the reminders from the trailer, but lets wait and see what will become of it, but in all honesty I cannot see this being as successful as the original.

source

The STEEM Engine

ASAPERS

My Achievements on Steemit