Challenge 30 Days; Day 8 - Benefit of Doubt

Don't you think it may have happened differently?
Why will you be fast to judge?
Do you ever wonder why he/she did it?

You see, it is quite easy to conclude, easy for us to condemn, easy for us to take actions; without getting to know the full story.

Benefits of Doubt
Credits

What if we give a benefit of doubt; even just little, this world will be better than it is today.

Back in school, i usually warn my roommates to stay away from my stuffs. I would get angry when people use any of my property without informing me. I've always had quarrels with John for using my things. The last quarrel we had was when John used my laptop. After the last quarrel, John swore on the name of his father and mother, never to use my property ever in his life.

At first, i had missed feelings about the oath John took, but, who cares?

A week after, i came back from practice, looked at my table, my laptop wasn't there, and the charger too was missing. I was filled with rage. "He has crossed his boundary, this nonsense has to stop today". I went straight to John's room in anger.

There it was, my laptop at the left socket in John's room, and was sitting on a chair in his room. My rage became more heated after seeing my laptop in his room. He stood up as he saw me approaching him in full anger. Without saying a word, I gave John a hard punch on the nose. He brought his head up, trying to say something to me, but, i rained him with more blows before people could separate us. But by then, John was finding it hard to breath and gradually, he became unconscious.
Emergency
Credits

He was rushed to the school medical center, and the school security came to take me into custody. I spent the night at the school security. The next morning, some friends came to visit and informed me that John regained his consciousness. But his parents are pressing to take the case beyond the school security and take it to the police. My parents pleaded with his parents and they finally dropped the case against me.

I later discovered that the electricity power in my room was damaged, that was the reason my laptop was taken to John's room. It wasn't even John that took the laptop away from my room, it was Riliwan. Riliwan took it to John's room to help me charge.
Judging People
Credits

I hurriedly rushed to conclusion and almost killed John for what he didn't do, and even if he did it, he had my good intentions at heart.

Please don't rush in placing your Judgments, criticism or condemnation. Always give people a benefit of doubt before concluding.


This is part of the 30 day challenge initiated by @dragosroua in this his post you can still join in the challenge. Always use the #challenge30days tag for your post to be seen by @dragosroua .

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now