Day 1: Silverware




Oi Hivers,

Here I go, starting the 30-day challenge: The not-so-ordinary ordinary items challenge. Kicking it off with... Silverware! What a huge surprise! No... it's boring. Try to photograph boring objects... But I'm quite satisfied with how smooth and professional this turned out. This image could be used for a label on the packaging.

Silverware (or a tool to eat) is maybe the number one most used daily item on the planet. I could be very wrong, but I wouldn't be surprised if something else is used more than silverware (maybe a glass or something, since we drink more than what we eat).

Whenever I am eating, I usually just use a spoon. Which seems to be very surprising to my fellow Dutchies. I guess I'm just raised that way. The Asian part of my family usually just eats with a spoon. I never asked why exactly, but my father told me once that we're supposed to eat this dish with a spoon, that one with bare hands, and if you can; chopsticks. Not everyone may know I'm half Asian since I'm prettttttyyy white for an Asian guy. But in the Netherlands, half-breeds like myself are pretty common and I'm often recognized as an "Indo", which is 50% EU and 50% Indonesian.

So, whenever I have the chance to eat with a spoon, I eat with a spoon. It has always been weird to me that people here in the Netherlands eat some dishes with a fork and a knife. Due to the way I was raised, I just continued using a spoon, which is, by the way, the most efficient one of them all. You can cut, scoop, and do some heavy lifting with it :P. But if I were to eat steak or something, I'd use a sharp knife. But for everything that I can cut with the side of my spoon, I will just use a spoon. Lol.

When you think about it, it's quite remarkable how often we, well I, use a spoon. Besides using a spoon for spreading Sambal Badjak (extra spicy) on my breakfast bread, lunch, and dinner, I always notice that the cutlery drawer is always low on spoons. SEEMS I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE IN THIS HOUSEHOLD THAT USES SPOONS AFTER ALL.

Never did I imagine talking about a spoon... or silverware, but hey! This is quite an ordinary object to me. Even though I'm 100% positive that "only" using a spoon to eat your food isn't so ordinary to at least a few of you. And if it is normal, I just hang out with weirdos then. Or I'm just a bit off. Yeah, that's also a 100% guarantee.




















The creative process

Silverware is created from (precious) metals, which can give you quite some mirroring and harsh reflections. This makes it a bit of a challenge to photograph it. Depending on how you'd like to photograph it of course. I used a small piece of light fabric that I placed on a table. Then I placed a spoon, fork, knife, and stirring spoon on top of it. To get a smooth reflection, I used a huge white reflection screen which I placed right above the silverware, with a striplight shining through it. The angle of the striplight is slightly tilted, to get a gradient falloff in the reflection. Just a small fold of the fabric did the trick to add a bit of depth and would serve to slightly guide the viewer's eyes.



Technical details

Camera Sony A7 MARK II
Lens Sigma 105mm f/2.8
Shutterspeed 1/6
Aperture f/9
ISO 80



About the challenge

Photograph and write a little bit about 30 ordinary items that I used a lot in 2022. You can read more about the challenge, and join yourself here. This challenge is just a little experiment.



Could I live without a spoon?

Probably, but it would make life a lot more difficult, so I prefer not to live without one. Honestly, I wouldn't know how to eat properly if spoons didn't exist. Bare hands are fine, but try that with soup and try to convince me again, you slurp!

Cheers,
Ruben

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency