HELP: MY CAT WONT STOP DRINKING OUT OF THE TOILET

Attention fellow cat owners:

I need some cat advice from any experienced owners. My cat will NOT stop drinking from the toilet. Yes, I know the obvious solution is to keep all toilet seats down, however I am worried he will not drink at all. I have tried this once, and he did not drink for an entire day, so I caved and opened one. Sure enough, I heard him jump onto it a couple minutes after I left the room. I figure he likes the toilet water because its cold and decently fresh, so I've tried putting ice in his water bowl and changing it multiple times a day. This did not phase him one bit. I then tried using one of my drinking glasses to replace his bowl. He loves to jump on tables and stick his toilet bowl tongue into my freshly poured water. Im guilty of letting him sometimes because he is just so cute to interrupt.

Back to the toilet issues, Im worried that he is going to get sick one day if there is any remnants of toilet bowl cleaner in the water. Also for the mere fact that this is GROSS, and Ive had a few people tell me that he is going to get parasites from this. I will admit, I found this funny at first and let him do it as a kitten. He was basically feral when I got him, so I thought he was just playing around. Has anyone else had this problem? If so, do you have any suggestions to stop this?????

-Owner of a barbaric kitty

jax.jpg

jaxy.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now