Departure fiasco and trip to Mexico (episode 1)

Yeah, guess I gotta start with my departure to Mexico! Never been there before but I've gotta go! Now you might be thinking I'm in the U.S., but no! I'm from the states but have spent half of my life in the South of France. I didn't know much about blogging before nor even the blockchain. But I've been brushing up on it. So I'll be blogging about the past as well as I've had one hell of a life.

Let's start with this trip to Mexico. Two days to pack my life away as I won't be coming back to France...ever. As we say in French...c'est chaude patate (it's a hot potato!). Been feeling like I live cerca 1940's WWII with all the snitchers and the yellow stars coming around the corner. Pretty soon won't be able to eat (already haven't been free to breathe for a year and a half!). So I've decided to join other freedom lovers in Mexico! A little vacation, a little tequila, and I'll be able to improve on my sloppy Spanish!

I bought my plane ticket via GoVoyage with Air France and an all nighter to finish packing had me screeching in the morning with two extremely heavy suitcases that wouldn't close. Plane leaving at 11:40am and at 6:30am I'm bouncing on my suitcases like a madwoman...too many pics, too many clothes, too much crap in there! But these are my memories, (well, maybe not the clothes lolšŸ˜œ). Finally, throwing stuff out left and right, I get them zipped up. A last glance at the pigstye left in my wake, I step out of the door.

It's 8:00am and these bags weigh a ton! Down the elevator I literally tug and pull and even fighting to get them out the door and to the bus stop!

Arriving at the bus depot which goes to Marignane Marseille Provence Airport, I go to the 12th station platform. I throw one heavy suitcase under the bus (throw is an overstatement lolšŸ¤£). Then as I turn to get on the bus a fleeting thought comes to my head. Do I have my passport? Oh shit!!! I've forgotten my passport! I turn to the other driver in back of me saying, "Je ne peux pas partir. J'ai oubliĆ© mon passeport. Mille euros aux chiottes!" "I can't leave. I've forgotten my passport. 1000ā‚¬ down the toilet!". What was I going to do now?!

The driver all of a sudden makes a phone call. He calls his boss, then walks away.

I pull (and that's an understatement) my suitcase out from the bottom of the bus. Then turning back toward where he'd disappeared, I see him drive up in one of their company cars. He grabs my suitcases and puts them in the car, asking me where I live and telling me that normally he'd never do this for a customer, but he was making an exception for me!šŸ˜² I couldn't believe it! I had to be leaving this town after 18 years before somebody finally showed me a kindness (that's another story).
We get to my apartment at 8:40am. I run in and up the elevator to the third floor, (fourth U.S.), and I grab my passport and chug back out the door. He then drives me back to the bus depot and loads my luggage under the bus, then refuses the tip I offer himā¤ I then get on the bus and off to the airport I go!

IMG_20210901_170212.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency