The Strecker Laboratory Roosevelt Island

The Strecker Laboratory Roosevelt Island

On one of my morning walks, I walked around Roosevelt Island and visited Southpoint Park. my plan had been to head to Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park which I see across the East River from Manhattan, but I found out it does not open till 9 Am and by ( AM I had to be in the office most days but maybe one day I will sneak out and visit the Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park, but for this post I will focus on this building I saw and thought looked interesting

1 Building on Roosevelt Island4.jpg

Sony A7iii 30mm F8 1/320 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



At the time I visited this area I had no idea what this building is, but when preparign this post I found out it is the The Strecker Laboratorydesigned by Frederick Clarke Withers

1 Building on Roosevelt Island.jpg

Sony A7iii 37mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



The Strecker Laboratory was built in 1892 as the first laboratory in the U.S. designed solely for the purpose of pathological and bacteriological research, Many of the doctors who worked there went on to make historic contributions ot labooratory sceinces in the first half of the 20th Century.

1 Building on Roosevelt Island3.jpg

Sony A7iii 70mm F8 1/320 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


These days, the building serves as a power conversion station for the subway lines that run under the island.

1 Building on Roosevelt Island2.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Its good to be flexible when I saw the park I wanted to go to was closed I could have turned back and left the Island, but by walking around I came across this interesting building.

And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.752285 lat -73.958226 long Roosevelt Island d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency