This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Stories about G - Chapter XII - A suspect at the airport

woman-594465_1920.jpg

My 30th birthday was approaching and I had never thought a number could have so much impact on me. It had two weeks left before I came back to Sao Paulo as an unemployed. I was getting ready for something new but without much idea of ​​what was going to happen, when my sister called me.
“There is a Dutch luxury tourism company that is going to open a branch in Brazil and they are looking for a journalist,” she said.
“Really? Have you got more details about it?,” I asked, interested.
“I had a chat with the CEO for a marketing position but the salary wasn’t exactly what I was expecting. I think you should apply for journalist position. I talked about you and she said it has been difficult to find someone for the role. It has to be someone who has lived abroad, who speaks English, Spanish and be easy going,” my sister told me.
“Send her your curriculum,” she told me. “There’s only one detail, the job is in Rio de Janeiro,” she said. “Isn’t it ironic? I love with Rio and you might be the one living there.”

views-of-the-sugar-loaf-1141047_1920.jpg

“We’ll see.. I haven’t even talked to her yet,” I said without expectations.
“I think is going to happen, you will see,” she hung up the phone.
That phone call made me feel excited. Now, there was a possibility of coming back to Brazil with a job and living in another city. I'd start over in a new place, the way I liked it; full of challenges.
The following morning, I sent my curriculum and I was invited for a Skype interview in the afternoon. I dressed up and asked a favour to Gianluca
“Giane, can I use you room for the interview? It looks much nicer than mine,” I explained.
When the interview started, the Ceo's camera failed and all my production was pointless. On the other hand, the chat was productive, we spoke in English and Portuguese. Then I was invited to visit the company's branch in London. I talked to an employee who had the same position that I was offered in Rio de Janeiro. After that, I get another call.
“Can you meet me at Heathrow for one last interview? I'm going to Paris and I have a three-hour connection,” my future boss said.
I was finding the situation very unusual; I was at London Heathrow Airport, negotiating a job in Rio de Janeiro with a person who was traveling to Paris.
The interview was really good, I negotiated the salary and was hired.
“I’ll see you in two weeks in Rio de Janeiro.”
Still in the terminal, walking towards the tube station, I called my brother to tell him the news.
“I’ll be content manager for this tourism company.”
“Congratulations! And you're still going to live in Rio!” - he cheered me up.
When I hung up my cell phone, I noticed a man walking behind me.
“Are you looking for the tube?” He asked me.
”Yes, but I know where it is. I didn’t know you spoke Portuguese,” I said.
“What are you doing at the airport?” He asked me.
I explained it and he told me why he was following me.
“I work for the airport security and we thought you're a bit suspicious. You better leave now. Good-bye,” he said.
Suspect? Me? Um, no way, darling. I was happy and employed.

shield-953533_1920.jpg

*based on a true story