How to write a blog post.


What to do when you are without electricity for 21 hours.



Almost four years ago, I wrote my first post on the blockchain. I had no idea what I was doing when it came to writing my first post. I only wrote a post to make my son, @Ecoinstant, and friend @Simgirl happy. Little did I know that the first post was the beginning of a journey that changed my life forever.

There have been vital things I have learned over the last four years, which ended up priceless in helping me make better posts. To those new to blogging on the blockchain, I hope some of this information will be helpful.



My new favorite nail polish that doesn't chip even after 11 days.



When writing my first post, I was honest. I stated that I had no idea what I was doing and no idea what I would be writing. I made a point to be open in the fact that I was learning to blog. I wasn't on the blockchain to impress anyone. If I had to be here, I would put all my efforts into learning how to do as much as I could.

Those few that read my posts then knew I was learning and offered brilliant advice I still use today.



Newest sketch I drew. It still needs work but I love where it is headed!



I am a slow learner. I learn by trial and error, also by seeing and doing over and over again. My simple five-minute freewrite posts took me hours to make each day. I did not let it discourage me because each post taught me something I needed to learn to keep getting better.

Knowing that your post is not going to be perfect relieves a lot of stress on yourself. Writing the best post you can at that moment in time is enough. If you wait to publish a perfect blog post in your eyes, you will never publish anything. If you never publish anything, you never learn what you are good at and what you enjoy.



Now that I have the concept, I can work on making the prospective correct.



I tried everything. I tried to write poems. I even won a few poem contests back in the day. I can tell you right now all of my English teachers, if they knew this fact, would start laughing and not believe it. If I had believed those same teachers, I never would have tried to write a poem.

The first rule of blogging is to be open to learn new ideas. The second rule of blogging is to try new concepts. The third rule of blogging is to take those unique ideas you have tried and analyze how they made you feel.

Did you had fun and enjoy learning that new 'thing'? If the answer is Yes, keep practicing, so you become better at what brought you joy. If you hated what you tried, not because you were not good at it but because it did not interest you even after trying your best, then never do it again.



The latest adult coloring book page I finished. It is very sparkly in real life.



The key to blogging is if you are having fun, it shows in your writing. People will pick up on your joy and come back to see what else you have written.

Your blog should bring you happiness if it doesn't change it.



Tomato Pie. Tonight's dinner was very yummy!!



Let's say you want to write a gaming post, but you see @Acidyo's two-thousand-word gaming post and think to yourself, there is no way I can compete with that, so you never write a gaming post. Competing with someone on your blog is never a good idea. You are not that person, and they are not you.

It would help if you always kept in mind people learn in different ways. Some people relish reading a two thousand word post. Others people would look at a post that size and never even click on it. What makes blogging platforms so great is if you look for information in a format in which you learn best, you should find it if everyone is true to themselves.



The recipe that you need to try. Yes, it was that wonderful. The next time I make it I would saute the vegetables first.



Do not be afraid to show the world who you are and what you love. You will be amazed at the response you get from others when you are true to yourself when writing a blog post.



Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Snook



All photos are mine unless otherwise stated.



Gif made by @Snook



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency