"Are We Back To The REAL World Tomorrow?" by Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)


[Digital creation including actual communication exchange. 2020.]

I sometimes wonder if I've chosen the right path in life, especially now when seeing friends is such a rare occurrence, but every once in a while, I get a note or a comment or a gesture that reminds me of WHY I keep doing my THANG...

Today, I had a short exchange with a good friend, Mary, in which she provided me with an address that I needed. Towards the end of the conversation, she wrote...

"...thanks for helping keep art alive."

Damn...

If THAT'S what I'm doing, and I'm effectively accomplishing this sacred task, then that's a suitably mythic calling (for a windmill fighting knight), and I'm pleased to find myself on such a noble quest!

I'm helping keep ART ALIVE. (Not MONEY, not HATE, not IGNORANCE, but ART! And if Alan Moore is correct [big IF], then I'm also helping to keep MAGIC alive, which is incredibly important, even though I don't believe in it!)

I'll keep making and sharing art and promoting creativity and individual expression until they cut the part of my brain away that I need to THINK ARTISTICALLY...and who knows, in someone like me, it would probably just grow back, weirder and with new, fruit flavors, if they tried to chop it away...

Meanwhile, though I spent most of today NOT making things, I did do a three page freewrite: no time limit, no prompt, just three pages filled with inky thoughts and images... (Language games!)

Did you get all that? (If so, sorry! The major effects will wear off in the next 36 hours or so...unless you're allergic...)

And now, as a cool down, here's some "Green Cat Zen..."

Later!!!

---Richard F. Yates (Holy Fool)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency