Vintage Vespa Build

This is my 1979 Vespa P200 I built and just finished when this photo was taken and I was pretty happy to have it done



IMG_0048.JPG

I had a spare P200 motor laying around and was tired of looking at it and decided to rebuild it, did some upgrades on it to make it faster which is always a good thing, but you always want them to go a little faster, that's the joke. I found a P200 frame on craigslist for $100 so I grabbed it, It's was a mess. Its was sitting on the side of this guys house for I don't know how long, and had a family of rats living inside of it, I almost felt bad taking their home but I did it anyways. I decided I would just put in some orders for all new parts and start building it up, it was a real beast for quite some time and my scooter buddies made fun of me every time I rode it, but the thing was so fast that it was hard to make fun of me and they realized it. They clocked me at 92 miles per house and they couldn't believe it.

IMG_6882.JPG


I got the motor tested on a stand and it was running perfect so I started putting this ugly little scooter together I put all new parts on it, everything new and probably could have built it a lot cheaper if I had searched for each part but I wanted it done so I just bought the parts and started assembling it. I never intended on making scooter look pretty, It was merely a shell for a nice motor and I liked that I looked like crap but after everyone's constant ribbing I finally gave in. There was a scooter rally that was coming up and I decided to rattle can it. I was a brand new Porsche in gold and decided to paint it the same color, I really liked how it looked on the car and couldn't paint it my classic white that I wanted because I really didn't feel like prepping it, I just wanted it to cover and be done.

IMG_2459.JPG

I got some gold paint, clear sparkle, and some brown paint for the accents on front, I did the fastest paint job I could and was done in about 5 hours, I would have been done faster but it was a very windy day and I should have waited but I was very impatient and just wanted to get the job done, I don't know that It would have turned out much better if I had taken it apart and prepped it, gotta like rattle cans!!

IMG_2518.JPG

Just needed to add the floor rails, and they are a real pain in the butt, the rivets they come with are not easy to work with but I was able to get it done pretty quickly and managed to only smash one finger, not too bad. It was the first time I attempted to do these rails and of course by the time I was putting the last one on I had really gotten the hang of it and found some tricks along the way that made it much much easier, and would have actually helped me avoid smashing my finger, Oh well.


IMG_6513.JPG


So I got It all done up pretty for the scooter rally and of course my friends called me sparkle, haha. I should have just left it ugly. I was happy with how it came out and I know they liked it too or they wouldn't have made fun of me. They have since changed the name sparkle to gold member and I am fine with either, I love being made fun of....It keeps me young
So this is a photo of all the guys that went on the ride the next day and I was proud to be riding a scooter that had been a rat's house just a month prior.

IMG_3993.JPG

red line VL (1).png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now