Every Now and Then I Get This Urge...

...to write and draw a webcomic.

header.png

Source: Pixabay

 

I am no artist, not by any means. I like to paint tribal designs. And I used to draw furries. 😅 Not because I was a part of that scene or whatever, but I couldn't draw hands and paws were easier, and I liked cat faces better than human faces, and I thought it was cool that these people-animals could have tails.

Bugs Bunny and the like were my childhood! Walking, talking animals were normal! 😝

But drawing-wise... one can only get better with practice. I've been re-reading one of my old favourites, and the art at the start looks like it was drawn by a 10 year old, but then you can actually see his artistic flair develop as he progresses the story.

I've had this webcomic urge before, several times over the years, and during one of those times, years ago, I actually bought a Wacom Cintiq 13HD. Which was an absolute piece of GARBAGE. Half the time the bloody thing wouldn't work and I would get so shitty at it. $1000 junk. So I rehomed it for a paltry amount compared to what I paid and sulked for a very long time.

Last night I found myself looking at graphics tablets again. This time of the XP-Pen variety. They're cheaper than Wacom, and to be honest, Wacom, despite being an apparent leader in this field, has left a very sour taste in my mouth and I'd rather try a different brand. The particular one I'm looking at, the Artist 13.3 Pro, seems to have a plethora of wonderful reviews (minus the 3-in-1 cable) and I'm highly tempted to withdraw some Hive to grab it or a slightly newer one which uses just one USB-C cable.

Then I would set up a Wordpress blog, #exxp it to Hive, and get to work.

What would it be about?

I was thinking of a comical slice-of-life, set in Australia of course, but post apocalyptic. That's probably due to me writing and daydreaming about that exact thing at the moment in The Worldmeld. Actual real life dropbears on the loose! How can I resist?

My issue is: I have a bad habit of wanting to do things... and then never doing them. $400 is a lot at the moment, hence digging into Hive Savings, and I need to be sure that this is something that I intend on actually doing. If nothing else I can practice my art, only get better, and join in with the art communities here. That's worth it in itself, is it not?

I'm just contemplating at the moment; thinking things over; voicing my thoughts aloud; not making a rash decision.

We'll see how things go. I'm the type of person who is very stingy when it comes to money related things. For example: I have spent years and years complaining about the knots in my back yet I refuse to spend money and go to a masseuse; it took me twelve months of staring at at-home neck-and-back massagers before finally I deigned to spend the money and buy one of those instead so I could have instant gratification at home.

(This is the first thing I've bought for myself for a very long time, and I felt guilty about spending money on myself, but by god, this neck-and-back-massager thing is the best money I have ever spent I swear.)

And now here I am, staring at graphics tablets, preparing to feel guilty all over again for buying something for myself. I'm terrible.

We'll see...

Thanks for stopping by and listening to me reading my babble. 😅

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency