I'm thinking about switching from Wordpress

I have been using Wordpress for a very long time, probably since Mingus in 2004. It wasn't my main CMS at that time, I think I was still using Drupal or PHP-Nuke for my main sites, but wordpress seemed pretty neat.

From 2010-2012 I dropped out of the internet space and my "side hustles", we moved and I didn't have a lot of extra time, so I sold all my properties.

When I started JMK Engineering and re-did this site I chose Wordpress, and for ten years I've liked it. Wordpress has grown to be an amazing system. A platform that can do almost everything and that a massive percentage of websites on the internet today (2021) use.

So why would I want to switch, at least for this site?

Well, it seems pretty bloated for a personal page. Something that may get 100 views on a good day. When you have a tool that is good at everything there are a lot of options and abilities that only "some" people will use.

The bigger reason is directly BECAUSE it is so popular, and that is security. Wordpress has such a massive userbase that hackers will always spend a lot of time trying to find the flaws in a typical installation. This is why it is so important to keep your installation, and all the plugins, up-to-date. This adds administration time to running a site that I don't want to deal with anymore.

Not going with a "cloud" solution

One way to solve this is to go with a cloud solution, even wordpress.com would work, but then I'm relying on someone else to keep everything up to date, and it is an even more enticing target because there are so many sites on one platform.

Static Sites

I think, for a site like this, a static option is going to be the least fuss. The static site generator that has caught my attention is Publii. It is a, open source desktop application that generates static pages that can be uploaded to the host. They have been around for a couple years, but I have only come across them in the last week or so. I have switched the NAS Hosted project to it to play around with.

So far it has lots of promise, but there are a few things that make me think that it isn't quite ready for me, yet. They have an active community and I'm hoping in the next 6 months or so they will have all the options that I am looking for , or someone will fork it to add them. The creators seem stuck on the URL format that it outputs which seems like a strange hill to fight on to me. This gives me pause about the very long term viability of the project, but time will tell.

I will let you know what I think before I make the final switch.



Posted from my blog: https://jeffmackinnon.com/im-thinking-about-switching-from-wordpress/
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency