And Now For Something (a bit) Different...

For a while now I have been writing about science and technology on the internet.

Image source

I've blogged about everything from the recent discoveries and breakthroughs to how those very discoveries and breakthroughs could shape our future. I've blogged about crypto-currencies, social media, blockchain, hell even philosophy which I find fairly interesting but very difficult to blog about. I've chronicled the magic of music, I've written poetry and short stories on this account. I've written about almost every thing.

I find blogging to be an excellent way of relaxing. You can sit down, listen to music, drink a cup of fresh coffee, and type away at your keyboard, writing about your experiences, thoughts on global events, on films, on music, on just about everything. It's a form of connection between you, the writer, and the readers. It is much like a window into someone else's life and the things they have gone through. You get a glimpse of someone else's a bit more adventurous or exciting life. For many audiences, this is the kicker: the fact that you can almost "spy" on some (internet) stranger's life.

Image source

Many art forms revolve around this very idea. At their core, films, novels, and whatnot are just that, they provide a glimpse into the characters personal and professional life. But almost always these characters are either purely fictional or fictionalized to some extent. The thing about blogging is that instead of immersing yourself in the lives of fictitious characters, you are immersing yourself in the life of a real person, and there is a bit of entertainment there believe it or not.

Most people want nothing but a way to escape and they can find it in anything. They can find that in entertainment, in movies, music, tv, they can find it in nature. They can escape their lives by "being a part" of (internet) strangers life by reading their blogs. They can know how that persons thinks and feels, what are his motivations and where he is headed in life. They can almost "be" that person.

And that's what blogging is to me, an escape. But not in the same way as I described above. For the writer (or the blogger himself), it's almost a way of catharsis. And this is what it has been for me. Emotions become almost toxic and venomous if they are repressed, only when you let them loose you feel healed. Steemit has enabled hundreds of bloggers to express and convey themselves, and I'm sure that for some of them it has become a means of catharsis. There are very few social media websites like this on the internet and even less so with such an incredible community that allow their users to express themselves without placing them in a toxic environment.

Image source

For a very long time I have covered technology, science, and poetry among other things on this blog but I have always felt something was absent. I thought that it was philosophy so I started covering more of that but it was still not it. Then, I started adding my thoughts in each article about technology and science which felt nice. It was not long when I realized that's what was missing! The "human" element, which is what blogging is at its core.

So from now on, I'm gonna focus on more of that. Instead of only writing about the recent news or philosophy, I'm going to write on a more personal level and communicate with the reader as I believe that communication is essential to the health of a blog. I'm going to explore my passion for cinema in the future articles, something I've wanted to do for a long time. I might even review some films, that'd be fun. I'm very excited for the next articles and I hope that you will enjoy them.

I'll see you next time, in my next article. Sayonara!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now