HOW TO - Lawn Mower Tune Up!

Time for a tune up!


Mower running rough or not starting? Maybe it's time for a tune up! Pretty much every year at the beginning of season you should be giving your mower a proper tune up. This consists of new spark plug, air filter, oil change, fuel filter change (if applicable), and a new blade or sharpen your old one. As you may have seen here, today I spent a little time at wally world and walked out with 4 air filters, 4 spark plugs, 3 bottles of oil, a new blade, and 3 cans of carb cleaner for a few mowers I am preparing to put on the market. Here's how some of that is done!


It is super easy to do a tuneup on almost anything. Mowers especially! I began by replacing the spark plug. I simply removed the boot and used a 5/8" spark plug socket to remove it. Socket size may will vary.
IMG_20180527_113524.jpg

It looks like it hasn't been changed in awhile, there was quite a bit of burnt gunk on it.
IMG_20180527_113635_1.jpg

After screwing a new one in and putting the boot back on, I moved on to the air filter. This one took a 8mm bolt I had to unscrew, then the housing came off.
IMG_20180527_113529.jpg

IMG_20180527_113545.jpg

Again, hasn't been replaced in a while. This was actually after I banged it off some.
IMG_20180527_113723.jpg

Moving onto the oil. Some mowers have drains, some people just turn them upside down, but I prefer to use a baster or a fluid transfer pump. (I may or may not have forgotten to take a picture of this..oops.) When putting new oil in just put a bit in and check periodically. Mine took about half a quart.


source

Lastly, sharpening the blade or changing it. Sharpening can be done with a grinder or file. Some people say it has to be balanced, but I have never had a problem with not doing that. Changing/removing the blade is super easy. Typically only one bolt in the middle and it is off. (Guess I forgot to photograph this too...I'll try better next time!)

source

That's really all there is to it! My mower did not have an oil filter or fuel filter, so I did not have to replace those parts. It may be different for you though! Stay tuned for more!


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency