Day 137: Fears

Hi again everyone!

Today, I'm gonna be talking about fears, which is in no way related to the fact that I just found a rather large wolf spider on my wall.

Spiders

I never used to have any issue with spiders. My brother and I would pick them up bare-handed and carry them out of the room whenever we came across them. For whatever reason, that's since changed- I haven't had any traumatic experiences or anything, so I'm not sure why exactly it happened, but lately, I don't much care for spiders. I realise there aren't any where I live that are dangerous that I wouldn't immediately recognise, but I've sorta come to the realisation that they're quite unpredictable, and in some cases, very fast, and I'd rather not be near a spider if I can avoid it. That said, I do find spiders to be interesting, and in more controlled situations, I've got no issue with them.

Wasps/Bees/Other flying insects

Contrarily to spiders, I've actually become less bothered by these lately. I'm not sure whether or not I'm allergic to insect stings, as I've never actually been stung, so I do have valid reason to be cautious of these. When I was young, I was terrified of wasps- if one flew by, I would jump, and walk a few feet away if possible. Lately, though, I've become a lot less bothered by them- late last year, I spent a fair bit of time sitting in a field, oftentimes eating, while surrounded by wasps, and surprisingly, I wasn't really upset by them. That said, I've still got a persisting fear that I'll go to scratch an itch and find that it was actually one sitting on me- probably because that actually happened to me once (though I was lucky enough to get out un-stung).

Heights

My fear of heights is very self-contradictory, honestly. I have no problem in airplanes, or in a massive gondola (namely the Peak 2 Peak in Whistler), but a simple ski lift, or a 10 foot balcony, is enough to make me uncomfortable. I think part of it is how well enclosed I am- being in a closed room, like an airplane, is fine. Being on a platform with just a fence or railing doesn't cut it for me. A platform without any sort of railing or fence is basically a no-go zone. That said, it hasn't stopped me going in some pretty odd places- like the Grand Canyon, or the Capilano Suspension Bridge, neither of which have much in terms of closed spaces.

Anyways, that's gonna be it for today, unless I spontaneously develop another fear before I can finish writing this post. Hopefully you enjoyed it, and let me know if you've got any similar fears!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now