I Visited an Old Appalachian Cemetery Today

This morning I took a beautiful drive to a church yard sale held by ladies with old Appalachian accents (my favorite kind). I decided to walk across the street to the church's cemetery and found the headstones of people born as far back as 1847.

IMG_7134.JPG

I love to imagine the lives these people lived. Appalachia was completely closed off from the rest of the world up until only the 1930s and '40s. Before then it was nearly impossible to get up here through the mountains. The old Celtic music from the old country was perfectly preserved up here for hundreds of years. They lived simple lives. The Appalachian folk have their own very unique and distinct dialect, and it's fun to travel outside of my modern city to meet people with the accents like I heard today. You're always greeted warmly by these salt of the earth people, and I always ask them as many questions as I can. Unfortunately most people don't know how interesting their own culture is, and many of them are even ashamed because they've been taught that their ways are backwards.

Anyway, I thought you might enjoy A glimpse at this little old community cemetery in Appalachia. Do you like to visit cemeteries?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency