Exploring Decentralized Storage

I'm curious about what the Hive community thinks of this, and what sort of information others have gathered on the subject. Right now, I rely upon integration with Dropbox to handle the automatic storage and syncing of my data, but am naturally not hoping to stay with that company forever. I've discovered a number of other services that all have varying levels of security, but so-far have not yet encountered too many decentralized/blockchain-based storage options, certainly none that are beyond the nascent stage.

My favorite of those isn't blockchain-based, it's Cryptee, but their system is still in beta and lacks the features I'd need for a proper storage replacement.

It seems to me that blockchain-based storage would be a powerful tool, and is one that, in a certain sense, we already use. There are many questions this raises, of course, like how the storage needs are fulfilled on the back-end by various hosts in the chain, and how swiftly and effectively data transactions could be handled, but none seem insurmountable.

Regardless of whether or not any such project is active here on Hive, I'd also be interested to see if others have discovered more mature projects elsewhere that might be ready for use.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency