I miss Bitfinex already

I've extracted all my money and kept only the BFX tokens. At 0.35 they are mostly gone anyway and it's a better gamble to keep them, I think. I lost tens of thousands already. I was with them for the very start, when Raphael was answering my support emails and almost all BTC was held in coldstorage , for a large withdrawal you had to wait until the next day for the hot wallet to be manually replenished. That felt safe, how could it all degrade into this multisig disaster ?

That being said, I had no idea in what sorry state of affairs the rest of the bitcoin landscape is. I've tried to move to Coinbase, they are absolutely anal with KYC, I will not have a 6 figure amount stuck there at their discretion. Kraken, what a big joke, their two factor for withdrawals can be disabled without providing the second factor, are these guys serious ? When exchanging 3 figures in Bitcoin, the slippage alone cost me a few hundred dollars and a half a day of my time. Horrendous funding fees. What a poorly written interface, I need to keep multiple tabs open to see the order book and switch between them to execute trades. Most other exchanges with the exception of itbit and Bitstamp look like something cobbled together by teenagers in their spare time complete with "trollboxes" and/or have ridiculous volumes, bad history and dubious ownership.

There is simply nothing comparable to the pre-hack Bitfinex out there. Post hack, it's temping to say that most exchanges are better than Bitfinex, but I really wonder how many of these dodgy exchanges would fold if a massive number of customers came to them ? Probably most, some by the hands of insiders.

Looking at the options we have, I start to think that maybe a Bitfinex with a 36% confirmed chance of hacking every 4 years and where you earn 20% per year in interest is not that bad. Until decentralized exchanges gain margin trading, we are left in the wilderness.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center