Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation Discovery Centre Seattle (Video)

Hi Everyone,

THUMBbill.jpg

In today’s post and video, I will be presenting my trip to the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation Discovery Centre in Seattle. I initially planned to include my own insights regarding the information presented by the Foundation. I also wanted to supplement that information with additional research I have done. Instead, I have decided against this approach. I believe it would more beneficial to leave my own opinions out and present the information directly from the foundation. This will allow my audience to form their own opinions regarding the work and objectives of the foundation. I will create another post, which I will use to present my findings as well as express my opinion.

What to expect from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation Discovery Centre

BILL.jpg

The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation was launched in 2000. The Discovery Centre in Seattle has a lot of information regarding what the foundation supports and sponsors. It includes goals and objectives that the foundation aim to achieve as well as the time frames they require to meet them. If you are interested in statistics and analysis, the Discovery Centre has plenty to consider.

Theatre.jpg

The Discovery Centre also has several videos showing throughout the day in their theatre. There are also several short films and snippets played throughout the Discovery Centre. These videos are played on repeat so if you miss the beginning you can wait for it to restart.

There was also an activity area at one end of the Discovery Centre designed for children to learn about various initiatives, activities, and research. Some activities required the children to come up with their own solutions to particular challenges and problems. While I was there, a local school was visiting. I believe school excursions to the Discovery Centre are frequent.

I found the interactive video wall to be the most interesting and possibly the most useful source of information regarding activities relating to the foundation. I recommend that anyone who visits should experiment with the wall. I explore the video wall in more detail in the video.

The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation Discovery Centre is open from 10 am to 5 pm, Tuesday to Saturday. Admission is also free-of-charge.

Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation Video

Below is the video I made of my time at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation Discovery Centre. The video is just over 10 minutes. It includes informative photographs as well as video footage.

Note: I strongly recommend that you watch the video before continuing.

Slides from the video

I have included the slides and photographs to give you more time to take in all the information. The photographs included in this post contains a good representation of the information available at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation at the time of my visit (May 2018).

GATESfam.jpg

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

17.jpg

18.jpg

19.jpg

20.jpg

21.jpg

22.jpg

I hope you enjoyed the video as well as the photographs.

Disclaimer: The information and data presented in the video and photographs belong to the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. The conclusions drawn by the Foundation do not necessarily represent the views or conclusions of Wayne Davies (@spectrumecons).

More posts


If you want to read any of my other posts, you can click on the links below. These links will lead you to posts containing my collection of works. These posts will be updated frequently.

Collection_1.jpg

Collection_2.jpg

Collection_3.jpg

level.png

Brand2018.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency