Beer Saturday 222 - Muggles, Cottage Beer and Beer Art

#BeerSaturday is at week 222 and I am drinking different styles of beers from all across this province.


zekes-hops.jpg

Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

I became a beer blogger because of the years I have spent brewing for myself, the breweries I work with now on their technology and marketing, and the decades spent imbibing combine for the self-decreed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist.

This week, I am now a part of the Mug Club, enjoy a cottage IPA, and and knocking off another numbered IPA series.


image.png

Pint of the Week!


IMG_2198.jpg

To kick things off properly, I will highlight a pint enjoyed on the town as summer winds down. This week, we are official mug club members at one of our local breweries Heritage Hops Brew Co. https://heritagehopsbrew.com/ Membership has its privileges as they keep your mug on the shelf for the year, serve you discount beer, $5 pours on Wednesdays (which happen to be trivia nights), and a few other perks. It is amazing that we have held out this long becoming a muggle considering how many breweries we work with.

This time, and probably many others to follow, I enjoyed their finest standard IPA, 21 Haze https://heritagehopsbrew.com/products/21-haze-east-coast-ipa


image.png

Kunga Roo?


IMG_2254.jpg

I have an enviable supply chain for Boshkung Brewing Co. https://boshkungbrewing.com/ It is in a cottage region I don't get to visit very often but a shipment comes back to the big city with a family member, and sometimes makes it out here! Nice craft beer with not much of an IPA game from what I have tasted. Here is a new one!


IMG_2255.jpg

Kunga Roo https://boshkungbrewing.com/collections/shop-beer/products/kungaroois a pleasant brand for a craft IPA from cottage country for sure. It is not so pale as other India Pale Ales when you pour it out and is topped with a nice frothy head. I do appreciate a little malt in a good ipa when done well and this is one of those. Nothing earth shattering but definitely the best IPA I have had from Boshkung. A reasonable amount of hops and bitterness, a bit o sweet and nice make to balance it out.


image.png

Collective Arts


IMG_2195.jpg

Beer and art are a fantastic combination which is why I have reviewed 18 straight numbered IPAs from Collective Arts Brewery https://collectiveartsbrewing.com/ Just having a seasonal playground/one-off beer every damn season from a solid brewery, makes for enough yummy content for any aspiring #beerologist looking to cut his or her teeth on a blockchain. The artist featured on this one is Sebastian Abboud from British Columbia on the west coast of Canada https://collectiveartsbrewing.com/artists/sebastian-abboud/


IMG_2193.jpg

IPA no. 18 is didn't start off so well with the coconut and the lime....neither of which normally belong in a beer. Though, I have never met one of the numbered IPAs I didn't like at least a little. Sabro and Motueka hops tend to sweeten up a solid IPA so we will have to jump in lips first and see.
As expected, this tasted like a mai tai or something like that. Wild coconut battling with sour lime, this beer chases that with big hops and enough tart to almost make it a sour.

For the sake of tasting something different, bold and huge, this beer was perfect. If I was going back to the friedge for another, I would have to move on to something different as 2 of these would be just too much sour lime for me. Otherwise, neat new beer I am glad I had the chance to taste!


image.png

Guest Beer


IMG_2257.jpg

This hazy image comes to me from my supplier of Boshkung beer who also lives quite close to Henderson Brewing https://hendersonbrewing.com/ which has very interesting IPAs. I couldn't find the Salted Lime Gose on the website but came close with the https://hendersonbrewing.com/beer/radicle-rasberry-gose/ Raspberry version of this seasonal series.

A gose, for me, is simply a nice break from the regular hoppy or malty favourites and a taste of something completely different. Always some fruit or veggie juice added to it and I never seem to enjoy more that one. This one was neat with a subtle lime and a salinity that boosted the crispness and flavour. I was a few deep when I sampled it but I will have to give it a fair shot if I find it on the shelf again.

text16.png

text16.png

#BEERSaturday!


image.png

Thanks again for this wonderful #hive #beer gift by @spirall on Twitter! Hop in on the marketing push with us and invite the world of beer bloggers to join us on Hive.

222 consecutive weeks of raising a glass with @detlev and our global crew of drinkin' buddies! Talk about consistency and, most likely, a smattering of beer gut! Here is your chance to add your beer story and become an official beer blogger @detlev/beersaturday-week-222

This week, I am inviting a friend I have had since I joined the blockchain years ago @manoldonchev. His photography and flare for the arts along with interesting stories from Bulgaria make him a good addition to your feed of friends.

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

text16.png


zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg


LL Mends banner.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png



How the early fall beers treating you?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency