Sunday Suds - Peanuts and Cracker Jack Porter Review

Welcome to my Sunday suds review. Today I’m reviewing a recent beer I tried called Peanuts and Cracker Jack Porter by Mitten Brewing Company. This is a robust porter made with real roasted peanuts and peanut butter from Germack Pistachio Company.

I’m a peanut butter fan so I love beers that use real peanuts to create that roasted peanut flavor.
8128DE86819043EB8E1BE84F88CD67D8.jpeg

It pours black like most Porters with a creamy fairly dense head. It shows with a medium to high carbonation level. The aroma is strong with rich roasted peanut butter and smooth vanilla/toffee though out. That vanilla/toffee is more like a sweet buttery waffle cone now that I think of it. This could be the Cracker Jack.

DDE58D5E77254A5CB3F0950EB52075B1.jpeg

The flavor is a bit mellow compared to the aroma. It has some deep burnt toast, thick peanut butter, warm nuttiness, slight sweet caramel, and vanilla biscuit/bread notes. It’s complex, but it does not punch you in the face.

927E8F64E381491E989E7390452E7A32.jpeg

The mouthfeel is very light. It’s way lighter than I wanted for a porter. It’s bot crisp or too dry, but more like it’s air. It’s kind of crazy how light this porter is. Overall, it's interesting, and pretty good. I think I would have liked the flavors intensified a bit to balance the aroma. I’d also like a bit more chew as the lightness was kind of crazy for the flavor/aroma profile.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency