A visit to Africa

Alas, the Christmas season is here. I've waited for this season the whole year. I'm Ella and I'm from a family of four. My mom, my dad, my younger brother and I.

It has been a hell of a ride all year and finally we get to spend genuine time as a family. I suggested we spend the holiday in Africa. Yes! Africa. It has been my life dream to visit Africa. I just love the culture and all. No one really said anything about my suggestion so I had to push a little further.
'Mom! I really want to go!. Please mom. Pretty please!. Mom please!.

'Okay you could stop now. I would talk to your dad about it, but I'm not assuring you anything 'cause there's a sickness called malaria which could easily kill our kind and it's found in Africa. I don't want to lose any of my babies. Left to me I'd say no. But let's hear what dad has to say. We can never be too sure'.

'Thanks mom, you don't know how much this means to me!.
'Okay! okay! Now go upstairs and do your homework and remember you're grounded,no more going out'. She walked away
'Okay mom. I thought you forgot about that'.
Yes I was grounded just like every American teenager. I was grounded because I snuck out for a friend's party. I asked politely at first and mom said no.

I really had to attend the party and I was caught while I tried sneaking back into my room the next morning. That's how I got grounded. But staying at home was fun anyways.

I did my home work and had a nap, by the time I woke up, dad was back. I just hope he agrees. I had already talked little Henry, my brother, into liking the idea.

"Hunny, welcome home". My mom greeted my dad. "Let me take that"!
She got his bag from him. You should go upstairs and shower, I would be joining you shortly with your lunch. My dad liked the idea, he smiled and gave mom a kiss on the forehead.

'Thanks babe, I'd do just that'. He went upstairs to his room and mom headed for the kitchen. Eventually, she finished with his lunch and she took it to their room.

They spent a lot of time there 'cause the next time we all met was at dinner, guess they were doing some grown up stuff, I laughed. Dinner smelled divine. The aroma brought me out of my room. I couldn't wait to dig in. I scattered Henry's hair and smiled.

'Good evening mom. Good evening dad'.
Mom and dad were just looking at me in an awkward manner, it was so disturbing, then, dad broke the ice.
'So, Ella, your mom told me about the crazy idea you came up with for the Christmas season…'.
'But dad, I just want to…'

'Shhh' I'm not done yet. No one expected such a crazy idea from you, no single person. We thought you would prefer spending the holiday in Paris or Dubai or better still here at home like we always did. I thought your idea over, which of course didn't require a lot of thinking and I've come up with my final decision.

I was so nervous. I wanted him to say yes so badly, but the way he kept his face made me lose all hope. I kinda saw his 'no' coming so I was prepared for it. Maybe next year I could try again.

So I just listened in anticipation. He was stalling the answer, keeping us in suspense, making everyone eager. Mom seemed eager too. Henry, he was almost in tears because I told him we would have a lot of fun in Africa and dad was about to shatter his hopes. Finally, dad spoke.

'And my decision is yes baby! We are going to Africa!
We were all so happy. I couldn't wait!
''I say we go to Africa because we've never really gone there as a family, just me and you mom! And we went there for work. So, Africa here we come!.

'Thank you so much daddy, this means a whole lot to us, me especially'.
'Yes so can we have dinner now?.
'Definitely' I smiled. We prayed and had our dinner. We had three days to pack and get prepared for the journey to Africa.

I wouldn't want to forget anything, especially my camera and so, I got packing. I was so elated. Packing everything. I guess we would be staying there for about a week or two.

Africa was miles away from my home. I couldn't help but wonder what it would be like.

Three days came by as fast as I had wanted it to. It was time for our trip. We all packed our luggages in the car trunk and headed straight for the airport.

We arrived at the airport about twenty minutes later. Our flight was for 10 a.m. We checked in and sat, waiting for the mystery ride to Africa.

I promised myself not to sleep during the journey and so I told Henry to pinch me whenever I was about dozing off. While Henry didn't stay awake either so I was left with me 'cause mom and dad were two seats behind us. I stayed awake for about two hours and I finally slept off. I woke up to mom's tap on my shoulder.

``We're here children. Brace up?, it's time to meet Africa!".
'Yeeeah!'' my brother and I screamed. We got out and before we went anyway, we got the medicine against 'malaria' that was even necessary.

We were checked in our hotel rooms. The hotel rooms were okay, not what I expected but it was okay. Our fun ride was to start the next day. I just couldn't wait.

The next day came by and I put on my boots, a hoodie and sweatpants in anticipation of any challenge I was going to face. I laughed.

Our journey began. I saw a lot of interesting sites. I met the people. The tourist guard we were assigned to was so nice and well mannered. He was patient with us although I could be so annoying sometimes.


Source

I met the African people, the kids running around so happily. And yes! I think Henry saw a girl that he liked, it was so funny. Did I forget to mention the food? The food was so delicious although I wasn't used to it.

It had a lot of variety ranging from their continental dishes to the traditional dishes which they used their hands to eat.I enjoyed every bit of the journey. I took a lot of pictures too.

They didn't celebrate Christmas the way we did. No Christmas trees or Santa but their own was lit. Dancing around and enjoying themselves. All too soon, we were to return the next day. I was definitely going to miss Africa.

The country we were in was 'South Africa' or so I heard. It was a fun place to be at. I am just anticipating another visit to Africa.

The next day, we boarded our plane back home after a lot of hustle.
We arrived back home. Back to our normal routine. At least my holiday was well spent. I just couldn't wait to tell my friends about it the next week at school.

PS: Henry wasn't so happy to leave 'cause his new friend didn't come back with us. He had been sullen throughout the journey. As a good sister I told him..
'Henry, don't worry, you'd get over her. It's just a matter of time.

A week well spent. So I guess it's bye Africa! and hello California!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency