Get Help Fast with Steem on steemit.chat and Discord! #5

Welcome to day five of Basic Training on Steem! Would you join us today in learning about how to use the chat channels on Steemit.chat and Discord because these are extremely helpful for getting real-time help?

Get Help Fast on Steem with steemit.chat and Discord! #5


If we get started on Steem it's very likely that we will get really excited, and then we will go maybe find someone's post, like one of my posts, and you will comment on it and you will be all excited, and then you will notice, "I made all this and Jerry didn't even reply to it."

You might start posting on Steem, post a bunch of comments and not get any replies, and then get frustrated and want to know how to do something. Then, we are liable to start asking, "Well, where do I get some immediate help? If something goes wrong where do I get some help right away?"

The best place to do this is in Steemit.chat and in Discord.

Steemit.chat's interface looks like this. You can see in the lower left here "Steemit.chat powered by Rocket Chat." Thank you to to @riverhead for keeping steemit.chat online!

Then, we have all these different messages on here. We have different channels. We can do direct messages. This is one of the fastest ways to get immediate help.

When I am fooling around with my witness server and I need help on something, and I don't know what to do with it, then I just stop straight in the "witness" chat channel, and then I can ask a question.

If I go back a few days, I got stuck with a specific technical error, so I posted the exact error. I very quickly got some help with it and that is happening way faster than if I just was trying to post comments on Steem.

Often it may be hours if not days before anyone checks comments on Steem. Sometimes I don't even see comments on my posts, but with Steemit.chat we can get someone who's most available.

Often, for things like getting witness votes, being consistently available in the "witness" chat is a great way to get witness votes.

@drakos, for example, is almost always hanging out in the "witness" chat. He's consistently there to answer questions and that's helped him get a lot of witness votes as with many of the other witnesses here.

We see that they are hanging around and available commenting in the chat. This helps all of us to work together more effectively. Steemit.chat is useful to just jump in and have everything in one interface, which is why I mentioned Steemit.chat first.

Steemit.chat is the easiest thing to get started with. It's the first thing I signed up for because it has these "witness" channels. It's got the "general" channel where we can just jump in and talk to anyone. It's got lots of different channels.

You can search for more channels, there are all kinds of specific niche channels that are joinable based on exactly what each of us is looking for.

Then you can do direct messaging also on Steemit.

If I search for a specific user I can then have a message with that user directly. The problem with this is, for me in particular, I often get too many messages lots of times.

At the moment, I've got direct messages from 247 people, and then I've got 23 favorites and nine channels. It just gets overwhelming.

Steemit.chat is good in the sense that it is pretty easy to connect and get responses, but at the same time it can be pretty laggy and there are lots of people who aren't that active in Steemit.chat who are active in Discord.

Steemit.chat also does not offer voice chat, it just offers text chat, as we can see here in these chat channels, which is great. If it's 6 AM and I'm trying to set up my witness and I've missed a couple of blocks or something, I need help right away, then Steemit.chat is great for that.

What is great also, is Discord.

Discord is a chat app that allows for voice chats, it has a lot more depth and features than Steemit.chat and it allows for communities to be grouped up and set in depth pretty well.

While on Steemit.chat, there's just this one "witness" channel, then there's another "witness blocks" channel for everyone who's missed a block.

On the Discord channels, it's much easier to have depth in a community.

On the @ADsactly server over here, there are all these different chat channels. You can have this nice post on "what is ADsactly?" which is also on Steem at https://steemit.com/adsactly/@adsactly/adsactly-on-adsactly-part-1.

You can go over here, and look at each of these channels, which have different functionality. For example, you can just have contests in this one channel and you have a vault on this one channel.

You've got four different voice chats. You can jump into each of these different voice chats and just hop straight in or you can then just disconnect here.

It's nice on these Discord channels, there's a lot more depth, which like ADsactly has got about 5,000 or so people in the Discord channel. It's nice to have that kind of depth.

I just started a new Discord channel "Jerry Banfield and Friends" and I don't need all those different rooms on mine because there's maybe a hundred people so far in the first week in my Discord channel. It'd be kind of ridiculous to have all those different channels, so I have three different text channels and two different voice channels in mine.

I have the Friends channel, which anyone can join and chat. I have the members channel, which is available to anyone voting me up $10 or more a month on Steem as well as for those paying $10 or more a month on Patreon.

Access to the Partners channel is for those voting up $50+ a month on Steem or signed up at https://jerrybanfield.com/partners/. The partners get essentially priority responses along with a bunch of other rewards.

I've got these three different channels.

Finally, I have a Friends voice chats, which is free, and then I have a Partners voice chat that only partners can go to for easier access to me.

I just started the Discord server and I've been able to keep up with every message in the free chat, and this is then instantly scalable. As soon as the Friends chat gets overwhelming, there's more motivation for a few people that want me to make sure each message is seen to upgrade into the members channel, and then as that gets more crowded, or it's desirable to just go into the partners channel to get all the benefits.

It's the same thing with the voice chat. I do a free voice chat every month where anyone can come to. Then, the more crowded that is, the more motivation to get in on the smaller exclusive partners one.

As we can see, each discord server can have significantly different rules with most having different "roles" assigned based on use contributions.

There's the "Minnow Booster" channel here and there's "ADsactly." I'm in the "Busy" one, there's "Peace, Abundance and Liberty" and "Steem Speak." Each Discord channel has its own set of channels and it has its own rules. It also has its own roles and levels, and each of these Discord channels presents outstanding opportunities to connect in the Steem community.

Some relationships that are strong on the Steem blockchain now, have been forged in Discord.

Now, the question is, "Okay. How do I find all of these channels?"

Fortunately, I've got a spreadsheet for that at https://airtable.com/shrF00NW4Z99WZX50.

I've got all kinds of these guides and on one here, I've got a link I just found by googling "Steem Discord channels list" by @torico.

The post is "Torico's Magickal List of Steemit Discord Servers v.2" and it has a list of all the Discord servers on Steem.

You just click the invite, and then you're able to get into the Discord server.

There is the ADsactly server, the Alt-Lifestyles and BeAwesome servers, and many more.

You can see tons of opportunities to join all these different Discord channels here.

I don't recommend just freestyle joining every single one and trying to make something out of it, unless you're just really bored and want to connect with everyone, but it can be nice to just kind of start maybe on Steemit.chat, take time to get to know some of the people, and then get recommendations as for which Discord channels to join.

Ask, "Hey, what Discord Channel do you hang out in?" and you might find that you get in a few Discord channels over time. I'm in six different Discord channels, and then I've got my own Discord channel as well.

This is extremely helpful if you want to get to know how to use Steem better. The Discord channels and Steemit.chat communities make a huge difference. These communities are extremely helpful for making things happen and getting help in real time, collaborating and building deeper relationships off of the blockchain, that then can be reflected in the blockchain.

For anything like witness voting especially, getting more upvotes on posts, connecting with what you might call a whale, someone who's got a lot of Steem Power, or just getting quick help, I'd say Steemit.chat and the Discord channels are essential.

Thank you very much for going through "Basic Training Day 5," witch is a part of my service as an author, as a witness, as an investor, as a curator, as a Steem Power holder on Steem.

I am grateful to be a part of the community today and I think good educational materials showing us how to make a strong start with Steem are helpful.

I hope you've learned something in here today that you didn't know before reading this.

Thank you.

I love you.

You're awesome and I hope to see you, if this has been useful, in day six of Steem Basic Training.

Final words


Thank you for reading this blog post, which was originally filmed as the video below.

If you found this post helpful on Steem, would you please upvote it and follow me because you will then be able to see more posts like this in your home feed?

Love,

Jerry Banfield with edits by @gmichelbkk on the transcript from @deniskj

Shared on:


Our Most Important Votes on Steem are for Witness!

Would you please make a vote for jerrybanfield as a witness or set jerrybanfield as a proxy to handle all witness votes at https://steemit.com/~witnesses because 100% of my witness earnings pay for ads that will help promote Steem for years? Thank you to the 2200+ of us on Steem voting for me as a witness, the nearly 1 million dollars worth of Steem power assigned by followers trusting me to make all witness votes through setting me as proxy, and @followbtcnews for making these .gif images!

Vote Jerry Banfield Steem Witness

Or

Jerry Banfield Steem Proxy

Let's stay together?

  • If you want to stay updated via email, will you sign up either to get new emails daily at http://jerry.tips/steemposts or join at http://jerry.tips/emaillist1017 to get an email once a week with highlights?
  • If you would like to build a relationship with me online, would you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I would like a chance to get to know you?
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
40 Comments
Ecency