Before Anyone Else (BAE): Posting Contest

Before Anyone Else (BAE): Posting Contest

@galenkp is hosting a contest called BAE, which is about the person you put Before Anyone Else.

The prize pool is funded by @edenmichelle (EGGSTA), @tarazkp and @galenkp.

I am writing this post for this contest, and this surly awakened some very fond memories of mine.

I am writing the story of my wife, Hettie and I and how we got married. This is quite a long story, but I will keep it short.

I have known her since we were at school. We went to the same church, and we used to sit right behind her family. Being 9 years older than her, I did not take much notice of her. We then went our separate ways, as I went to university and later to the army for 2 years. (Military service was compulsory at the time).

Both us then got married and divorced later.

Fast forward about 20 years later, I went to a church function and here Hettie was serving tea!! Although I don't drink tea, I went over to the tea table and started drinking tea and talking to her and confirmed a date for the next week.

One thing led to another and some time later we found ourselves on vacation in Knysna, which is a small coastal town in the Western Cape Province of South Africa.

They have a very nice view point there, where I organised my sister in law, who was in the vicinity (About 100 km away) to set up a nice picnic for us, with some Champagne on Ice and some nice eats and some candles.

Late the afternoon, I told Hettie that I would like to go for a walk next to the ocean and when we arrived at the view point, to her surprize there was a nice picnic for us. She could not believe that I could something like this together, without her knowing about it!! This is where I asked her to get engaged!!

IMG-1166.jpg

IMG-1172.jpg

Fast-forward some more and we arrived at our wedding day.

Wilson-troue-1-516.jpg

We got married in the same church where we went to as kids and where Hettie was serving the tea previously when we met again.

Wilson-troue-1-581.jpg

Below I am signing the paperwork!!

Wilson-troue-1-593.jpg

As we came out of the church we were covered by streamers thrown at us, by the guests.

Wilson-troue-3-121.jpg

Then we were of to the venue for some partying!!


Wilson-troue-1-623.jpg

Here we opened the dancefloor!!

Wilson-troue-3-299.jpg

There was a lot of dancing and everybody had a lot of fun!!

Wilson-troue-3-320.jpg

Wilson-troue-3-358.jpg

At the end of the evening we had some very tired kids, but all had a great time!!

Wilson-troue-3-341.jpg

As I said at the beginning of the post, this brought back a lot of good memories, it was great to go through all the old photos again, to relive the best day of our lives!!

We actually bought a piece of land in Knysna, close to where we got engaged, with the plan to build a house there at a later stage, although I don't know how I will afford this at the moment. This town is our favourite town in South Africa, and we hope to retire there someday!!

With the price of Hive going up and Splinterlands doing great, I might just get the money together from a somewhat unexpected source!!

I hope you liked the post as much as I liked writing it.

I hope you have a wonderful day!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency