Art Talk: Moore Across America

Today's post is called Moore across America, and it is a collection of the Moore sculptures I have seen in cities across America: New York City, Las Vegas, Palo Alto, San Francisco, DC and Los Angeles.

First let's learn a little more about Henry Moore.... one of my favorite artists.

  • He was born July 30, 1898 and is the seventh child of a Yorkshire coal miner. [1]
  • He is best known for his semi abstract sculptures.
  • His sculptures are usually of the human figure, especially the female body.
  • There are hundreds of works by Henry Moore on public view around the globe. [4]
  • In 1977 he formed the Henry Moore Foundation, This foundation cares for his former studio and art collection at Perry Green and administers grants and scholarships to promote sculpture in Britain. [6]

New York City

New York Botanical Garden

New York City is where I saw my first Henry Moore exhibit. It was an amazing experience that I have reflected on many times in the past 10 years. I was in awe of the beauty of the garden in late October and how his sculptures placed so beautifully and artistically in the space.

Below are a few of the highlights from the exhibit in the New York Botanical Garden.
There are so many great pieces that I am going to do a separate post called Art Talk: Moore in America.


Large Reclining Figure, 1984

This beautiful abstract human figure was first made by Moore in 1938 and measured 5.75 x 13 inches and was sold to the Museum of Modern Art in New York. Year's later OCBC Center in Singapore commissioned Moore to make an enlarged version in bronze. It his largest sculpture measuring 30 feet long. [3]


One of my favorite things is to walk around sculptures and see them from all different angles. Where you stand in relation to the sculpture provides a whole different prospective and experience.

Top: Goslar Warrior, 1974
Bottom: Locking Piece, 1964


Large Reclining Figure, 1984
Yes, it is the same sculpture as above, from a different angle. What do you think now?

blackline.png

Las Vegas, Nevada

Aria Resort

Large Reclining Connected Forms, 1974

In 2012 I went to visit my friend Kara in Vegas. She knew of my interest in art and so she took me to the Aria Resort to see this piece by Henry Moore.

One of the things I really do appreciate about Henry Moore and the foundation is how accessible his art work is to the public. I know that not all people share my love of museums, so it is wonderful to have these sculptures in public spaces.

blackline.png

Palo Alto, California

During my trip to San Francisco in 2015 I started to recognize Henry Moore that I had not previously known or seen.

Stanford University

As I was standing at the top of the Hoover tower (250 feet) at Stanford and looking out over the campus I saw a sculpture which I though looked like a Henry Moore. When I got back down on the ground I found it. It was a Moore!

This is a picture of the sculpture and you can see the Hoover tower in the back.


Large Torso: Arch, 1963

Stanford University has an extensive sculpture collection. There are over 40 outdoor sculptures on campus including Rodin's Burghers of Calais, Miro's Oiseau, Calder's The Falcon, and of course Henry Moore's Large Torso: Arch.


San Francisco, California

de Young Museum

As I was eating my lunch out on the patio at the de Young Museum in San Fransico I noticed a sculpture that looked like it was a Henry Moore and it was!

This trip was very exciting as it was when I start to recognize his work and style.

Two Piece Reclining Figure No. 9, 1968

blackline.png

Washington, DC

Hirshhorn Sculpture garden

Sculpture is like a journey. You have a different view as you return. The three-dimensional world is full of surprises in a way that a two-dimensional world could never be. Moore, 1962

This three-dimensional world Moore referred to is what makes sculptures one of my favorite mediums. It also draws me back to the same piece of work over and over, year after year. Another great thing about sculpture in a garden is that the foliage around it changes as well as the weather on the day you see it.

King and Queen, 1953

April 2012October 2013April 2014

The Hirshhorn sculpture garden is a beautiful sunken garden. To access it you have to descend the ramp or stairs. There are a few sculptures, including this one, on the level with the National Mall. From this location millions of people pass and get to see a Henry Moore each year, even if they don't realize it.


Two-Piece Reclining Figure: Points, 1973


National Gallery of Art, West Wing

Knife Edge Mirror Two Piece, 1976

I moved to Washington DC in the summer of 2001 and was a frequent visitor to the National Gallery of Art. This enormous, 5 ton, bronze is located at the entrance of the east gallery. It was my first experience with Henry Moore and his genius.

A wonderful memory...is playing with Mana amidst this great work of art.

blackline.png

Los Angeles, California

The J. Paul Getty Museum

Bronze Form, 1985

Seated Woman, 1959


Draped Reclining Mother and Baby, 1983


Me and Moore

In seeing all these pictures of me through the years you can tell adore Henry Moore and Pink!

Where have you seen Henry Moore sculptures?

Please share your pictures and experiences. I would love to see and hear them!

More Art Talk posts
Art Talk: Introduction
Art Talk: Emotion in Bronze

Sources [1] [2] [3][4] [5] [6] [7]

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency