This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Artstorm Contest #66 - Masks. Colors of Spring

Hi friends!

I never see a MardyGra's Carnival in real life. All I know about this is articles in magazines and TV shows on Discovery Channal.The fact that for someone a part of life and cultural traditions, I imagine as mysterious exotic of a distant country...
I like the colors of this holiday and the feeling of fun in connection with the arrival of spring...
So today I painted such a colorful mask on contest by @deemarshall

x5qsbvwp02.jpg

Today I decided to draw with traditional art materials, namely paints of tempera.

r34espwmnk.jpg

Sketch.
Usualy I draw on watercolor paper high quality.

yj804q0s1b.jpg

Steps.
For the yellow parts, I mixed cadmium yellow paint, burnt sienna and natural sienna.
Highlights on metal areas of mask & beads I maked by lemon cadmium.

2xb50hjyko.jpg

For the purple ribbons and beads I take white color, cadmium red & ultramarine. Shades should be cooler and darker than light parts. This will add relief to the loops of ribbons.

fpqqttaosq.jpg

Then I painted a green fragments of the mask with emerald green, yellow cadmium and some white.

emon12i6f5.jpg

Finally I drew a background for mask. Real thing can't just hang in the air!
Therefore I drew a wood door on which hangs a wreath with a mask. I needed burnt siena, natural sienna and black paints/
Lower part of door should be darket than upper through drop shadow from wreath.

ljwwvyi2sw.jpg

And the very last stroke!
Whith mixing white & ultramarine I add a highlights on a folds of ribbons to show what they from sparkling textil like organza.

x5qsbvwp02.jpg

I think I do good painting!

Have a nice day!

Gera