Levitating Lady

20180325_150702.jpg

As I wake with a jolt, I am unaware of my surroundings. Where am I? I sit up, dust my shoulders off- wait, dirt? Why is there dirt all over me? Why am I naked? Okay, this is getting weird. I look around. All I can see are dark walls; the ground is almost damp, like dew. I feel small rocks under me, digging into my thighs. I reach out and I feel a dirt wall. Wait a second.. I look up, and I realise. I'm in a hole in the ground. Now im panicking. Why am I here?
My mind gets fuzzy, there doesn't seem to be a way out. I stand up, stretching my legs. It feels like I've been here for a while. My whole body aches. At my tall stature, the opening to the hole is at least 40 feet above me. I can feel my long hair hitting the back of my knees, it's so tangled. How long have I been here?
I sit down again, there is no point in panicking. I need to think.
...
..
.
I can't remember anything. Wait. Who am I? I dont even know! How is this happening? No. Stay calm. I lower my hands to the ground, caressing the rocks under me. I focus on the wetness of the ground. I close my eyes. I can see the world. I can see the trees, and the grass. I haven't felt this calm in what seems like forever, even though forever has only been a moment. I listen. I can hear the wind whirling around the top of the hole. I can hear small amounts of wind finding it's way into the hole, and jumping back out. I long to be that wind.
I focus on the feeling around me. The chilly air on my skin. the rocks beneath me that are ever so slightly uncomfortable. Yet, I am comfortable. I'm no longer panicked. I feel light. I feel like this is where I need to be. I have a reason. I will get out. And once I get out, I will prosper.
I open my eyes, and there are trees around me. I no longer feel the rocks underneath me. I no longer see the dirt walls around me. How did this happen? I look down. I'm levitating above the hole, where I was once sitting confused and alone. I can feel the sunlight. I can feel the breeze. I can hear the birds chirping. So this is what it feels like to live.
xBriaKay

I would really love to see how you interpret this. I personally wrote it as a personification of depression and self sabotage. Let me know what you think in the comments! Much love xx

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now