Winter Baker - Viking Visual Art Mini-Tutorial

This is the transformation of a picture I took back in 2013 when I first returned to the US.

I asked my dad to stop the car so I could capture this stunning scene of these fields with Mt. Baker (a dormant volcano in the northern Cascades) in the distance.

winter_baker_scape_01_1600.JPG

(Image available at RedBubble, PicFair and TeePublic.)

Of course, my brain started playing around with the idea of removing the sky and making it night... so I did.

After deleting the sky, I added in a cosmos background (from Piqsels) as well as a moon (also Piqsels). (These are separate layers.)

The moon gained another layer, so I could put some moisture around it to make up for the hazy look over the mountains. I also put a 10% paint bucket across it to give it a bit of a full moonlight effect.

I also put a 50% opacity paint bucket across the foreground to put some nighttime over it. I didn't want it too dark though...

Anyway, I felt the result was fun. Here it is:

starry_winter_baker_scape_1600.JPG

(Image available at RedBubble, PicFair, DeviantArt and TeePublic.)


All work done by myself on: Gimp; watermark added on Photoscape.

Past A'mara Books tutorials:

DAZ 3D tutorials (not A'mara Books related):

Organizing Daz 3D Studio content , Creating New Clothing Textures for Daz 3D

Photo salvages:

Droplet, Bellis Daisy, Baby Blue Flowers, version 1, version 2, 2-Spot Ladybug, version 1, version 2, Bridge Over River Kennet

Coloring Tutorials & Mini-tutorials:

Zen colouring #43, Zen colouring #39, Zen colouring #38, Zen colouring #37, Zen colouring #36, Zen colouring #35, Zen colouring #34, Zen colouring #33,

Butterfly Colouring #11, Butterfly Colouring #10

Destruction Island Night Magic, Birds Over Sunset Waves , Starry Happy Little Rock

Halloween Artwork:

2018 - Pumpkin Patch Harvest
2019 - Haunted Pumpkin House, Jack-o-Lantern Forest Cemetery, Shadow in a Misty Forest

Miscellaneous Artwork:

Painting Wooded Easter Eggs



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble)
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter


Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency