Freya's Fire Cover Image, part 4 - Viking Visual Art Tutorial

Last time, I finished making my character, Gemina.

This time, I really go into uncharted waters because I get to play with my first non-human character - the Daz Horse 2!

I was able to take advantage of the Black Friday/Cyber Monday sales at DAZ to get one of the models I've most wanted - the horse... and a pair of wings to match!

This is for the horse (turned nuwa) named Jerem who is described as a great white stallion. As usual with these things, the colors are all wrong - but thankfully, this is an easy task for me now... even though I have a totally new creature to play with.

nuwa_01_red.png

As usual, I found the location of the files for the griffon wings and used the paint bucket to make the wings much whiter than it was. I also noticed a texture pattern for making the horses look less than smooth. I also made that whiter.

At this point, I've only fixed the feathers.

nuwa_02_red.png

Next, I had to make the horse's body white as well. That was a little harder because I couldn't just make the whole thing whiter (without making the hooves, insides of the mouth and ears white...) It wasn't too bad, thankfully.

I also made sure Jerem had blue eyes.

nuwa_03_red.png

Then I needed to pose my characters, including Jerem. I planned to have them flying, so I gave Jerem a slightly inclined position and his wings in full operation... but held to keep things looking nice.

My humans were not too bad to pose for riding a horse. I was pleasantly surprised to see that Gemina's dress behaved fairly well, though I don't know of a way to make it truly look good on a horse yet. Maybe there's another dress out there that does what I need... but I suspect most people just solve the problem by putting her in pants. My strategy will be to minimize the effects of the dress.

Anyway, here is my scene all ready to be rendered (and before I fixed a few things like Kolt's hands, their expressions in general, and Jerem's eyes - which weren't looking very blue here.)

scene01_red.png

Next time, I'll put it together to make a cover image. (I'll skip past the agony of 2-hour renders, done about 4 times in the end.)


All work done by myself on: Photoscape, Gimp, Krita, and/or Daz 3D Studio
Cross-posted on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu

Past tutorials:

Photo salvages:

Droplet, Bellis Daisy, Baby Blue Flowers, version 1, version 2, 2-Spot Ladybug, version 1, version 2, Bridge Over River Kennet

Coloring Tutorials & Mini-tutorials:

Zen colouring #43, Zen colouring #39, Zen colouring #38, Zen colouring #37, Zen colouring #36, Zen colouring #35, Zen colouring #34, Zen colouring #33,

Butterfly Colouring #11, Butterfly Colouring #10

Halloween Artwork:

2018 - Pumpkin Patch Harvest
2019 - Haunted Pumpkin House, Jack-o-Lantern Forest Cemetery, Shadow in a Misty Forest

Miscellaneous Artwork:

Painting Wooded Easter Eggs



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu


Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency