It's been a while... A drawing of a tribal warrior

Lots of things has changed since i gave a break to Steemit. Its been six months since my last post here. Time is really flying. I want to share with you some of my "attempt to make a game art" while i am gone. I had an idea of a primitive rpg browser game quite some time. The problem is the only thing i know about making game is drawings. So I start drawing. ^^

I must say I am terrible at drawing human body, people spends hundreds of hours to practice anatomy. Yet here I am with zero practice regarding human anathomy. It was quite the challenge for me to try drawing human characters. First I searched "models for drawings" on google. To my suprise there is a whole bunch of people posing for artists , both nude and clothed. Even some of them had axes and swords in their hands to help with the medieval character drawings.

To my first drawing I picked this man as a model

Primitive rock watch tower

I wanted to draw a warrior type character with a primitive club in his hand. They are great hunters and there are big wolves where they live. They sometimes hunt this big monsters to prove their skill and power in the tribe and wear them on their heads. I found some other stock models to draw and came up with three types of warrior. But in this post we are gonna focus on the third one. The big warrior.


Step One

  • In this step I simply sketch the general shape of the characters. Nothing detailed yet because details will come in later steps as I add colors. I try to give the general idea of what they are wearing, weapons and stuff.


Step Two

Before you go to step two, dont be a color blind like myself. its not making things easy belive me. Back to the subject..

  • Well I draw the character as black and white, this gives me more control on shades and lights. Helps me focus on more on the character shape rather then worrying about selecting the right color for the skin. I never can select the right color. I dont trust my eyes, I trust R G B numbers. Numbers dont lie. My eyes see wrong ^^ I first lay down a flat dark grey color and slowly build up the feathers and muscles etc. The original model helps alot. This is the most time consuming step I work with %10 opacity first and slowly increase if neccessary. Regular old brush with pressure sensitivity nothing fancy here.

Last Step

  • Finishing the character by adding some colors after shading. I pick some colors from other artists similar drawings with eye dropper tool and made myself a color pallet and use them in my drawing. I also added some tattoos on the arms to give a little more tribal man feelings. There are lots of areas to improve for example the arms and legs.

What I used:

Xp pen deco 03 Graphic Tablet
Adobe Photoshop CC
I usually work on 2000x2000 pixels canvas.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency