TAROT. painting. 2006.

20476555_1700383599985455_8270249080306264394_n.jpg
TAROT . 122x80cm. Acrylic on wood. Mallorca 2006.

This painting is earlier than the last one I posted although it is really from the same time when reading the same books from Jung and Jodorowsky.
I used these painting exercises to grow a kind of fluidity with the possible relationship between the different arcanos.
In this case I will share a few of the images I did while painting it.
I was living in Mallorca that winter of 2006. I was in one of my retreating episodes where I would paint for about 12 hours a day. I´d combine that with a cycling outing each day, to get some fresh air and movement.

I had painted one of my random bases, in no particular shape:

tarot02.10.06.jpg

Then I decided to place the tarot cards upside down all over the painting, not knowing where each one wold be.
Then I´d turn them over and write in pencil the number of where they were.

makingtarot.jpg

Then I just painted each one in that place as I felt it at that moment and had to kind of also find the limits and relations between them. (sorry about the poor quality of image, it´s old)

tarot06.10.06 2.jpg

tarotdetalle.b.6.10.jpg

This was a lot of work and I was also not very happy with the result, as I felt it was also so cluttered. I wasn´t even going to exhibit it, I thought it would stay with me as an exercise.
I was convinced by friends to exhibit it in the exhibition I did shortly after finishing it and it was the first to find a home.
The woman who bought it was so emotional I couldn´t believe it.
Since then, I know for sure that not always people prefer the same ones as me... it can be very different.
Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this painting,
Best Wishes!
Romanie

for more about the art please visit:
www.romanie.net

tarotdetall1.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now