Unicorn ~ by Red Dust Art

The Unicorn Is Scotland's National Animal

Doodlecorn

11 x 14, mixed media paper, pen, and ink

I need to work on light hearted drawings besides writing difficult articles and paintings. I will be trying to finish a couple doodles a week besides working on projects that stretch me. I just wanna have a little fun once in a while. Here is my first doodle in a long time.

I am also volunteering helping set up a kids area for a local festival here in Tulsa Oklahoma called Scotfest. Most of my doodles will be Celtic in Nature because I am getting to know part of my heritage. My Dad's mother, was from the Waddel Clan. The Scottish are a friendly people and love to share their culture. Especially beer, whiskey, and sports. The Scottish festival sponsors the Highland Games where wild haired men and their beautiful women, wearing plaid skirts compete throwing pitchforks, logs, and other oddly shaped heavy objects, strange but true... This festival along with many others of it's kind help clans or tribes depending on the festivals culture, stay in contact with each other. The festivals help maintain a cultures history and teach the young ones where their ancestors came from.

It's interesting that the Scottish people picked a mystical animal like the Unicorn as their national animal. But it may make sense when England's national animal is the lion and the unicorn and the lion are enemies. Scotland throughout many historical invasions was able to fight off invaders and remain free. However, eventually the proud people fell to England and to this day many still resent being ruled by the English.

What The Mythical Unicorn Represents.

Unicorn qualities included:

  • Innocence
  • Purity
  • Boldness
  • Pride
  • Healing Powers
  • Joy
  • Intelligence
  • Virility
  • Nurturing Powers

Scotland isn't the only culture to believe in unicorns or at least give reverence to the positive qualities of humanity. The unicorn myth is found in old myths across the globe from Greece, Persia/Iran, Egypt, India and Africa. What is interesting the qualities the symbol of the unicorn represents is the same throughout the world.

Like our American legend Bigfoot, a big hairy human like creature. People say they have seen the Unicorn but can never show empirical evidence. I don't believe in Unicorns but maybe that's because I am not a virgin. I don't believe in Bigfoot, I have never seen one. But I am leaving the door open just in case. Who knows, maybe these creatures live in alternative universes and during certain times a door opens up between our universes and we can see each other. My personal opinion the unicorn is a teaching symbol that promotes the positive characteristic of the human psyche. The unicorn may not real but the virtues it represents are.

Bigfoot could represent the Green Man or Wild Man

The Scottish Unicorn

some_text A link to My Blog

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
115 Comments
Ecency