A New World - Step by step of my drawing process, from sketch to finished artwork


There is an ongoing search for habitable planets in space - and one day, we will find another Earth. <3


The Sketch

I only did half the sketch, since I wanted it to be symmetrical. I used a lightbox to complete the rest of the sketch and transfer it onto drawing paper.


The sketch is lined with warm gray multiliner.


The coloring process

I used Copic Markers and white gel pen to make the drawing.

The reflection

I started with the lightest parts of the background. The sky, the hills, then the mountains, and lastly the dark water.


The Astronaut

I wanted to continue with the same color scheme, and placed the pink highlights and dark shadows. 


The background

At this point I figured that I had forgot to pay attention to the light sources, and that I had actually switched them up. Well... I decided to just finish the drawing, and edit it in photoshop instead. Super annoying, but it's just what happens when I draw without thinking... 


The finished drawing

My camera wasn't really able to pick up the pink color, so I eventually had to scan the drawing for the colors to show up correct.

Original:


Reflection reversed in photoshop:


Timelapse


Postface

If you want to know more about me, check out my:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now