Amazing Exhibition: CLAUDIA ANDUJAR - THE YANOMAMI STRUGGLE (my experience)

Hi Hive,

on Tuesday I have seen an amazing photography exhibition at the barbican Centre in London. I am a member there so I don't have to pay for exhibitions, (annual membership fee £59) it would have costed £16 had I paid without the membership.

IMG_4737.jpg

The Exhibition starts with a quote by Claudia Andujar:

This small world in the immensity of the Amazon forest was my place, and always will be.
I am linked to the Indians, to the land, to the fundamental struggle.

  • Claudia Adujar

IMG_4738.jpg

The Yanomami are one of Brazil's largest indigenous people. Claudia Andujar spent over 50 years photographing and defending these people.

IMG_4739.jpg

Claudia was born in Switzerland and raised in Transylvania, but due to her jewish family routes she had to flee Europe due to WW2. Eventually she settled in Brazil and became a photo journalist.

IMG_4736.jpg

IMG_4739.jpg

Yanomami is a simplified version of Yanomami Thëpë, which they c all themselves and means "human being" if it is translated.

on this map you can see which territory they live n in Brazil.

IMG_4735.jpg

IMG_4740.jpg

IMG_4743.jpg

IMG_4746.jpg

Over the years she has adapted different styles of photography, sometimes in really dark environments, and sometimes using coloured filters.

sometimes changing the shutter speed in order to capture movement.

IMG_4749.jpg

In these pictures you can see a portrait project, in very dark environment.

IMG_4752.jpg

One of the bigger projects she facilitated was taking arts supplies to the rain forest and some of the paintings were exhibited as well.

IMG_4754.jpg

IMG_4756.jpg

The last section of the exhibition shows a project together with the Brazilian health ministry. a lot of diseases killed a lot of indigenous people and they tried to vaccinate everyone. But since they don't have ID cards the only way to document who they had already vaccinated and to document their health records they photographed them with numbers around their neck.

claudia andujar turned this into great portraits using layering of different photos.

IMG_4759.jpg

IMG_4760.jpg

IMG_4761.jpg

IMG_4762.jpg
These were some of my favourite photos of the exhibition.

If you are located in London I can only recommend to go see it, since it is so much more impressive seeing these photos curated, and also obviously there are many more in the exhibition, and also there are some sound recordings and films being shown as well.

I can only recommend to surround yourself with art. I think it makes the world a better place. On one hand you see beauty, on the other hand you see a struggling people, and learn about ways to prevent doing more damage.

I hope you enjoyed this little review of the exhibition!

Originally posted on HIVE

All photos were taken by me when I attended the exhibition with my iPhone 11pro.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency