Will robots take over your world?

I have a little confession, it’s not something that I tell a lot of people, but I think I can trust you. Ever since I watched Tobor the Great, a science fiction film from 1954 about a robot, I have had a little place in my heart for tin robots.

Great 1950’s robots include:

Tobor, features in Tobor the Great,1954. And also the TV-series Captain Video and His Video Rangers, 1949-1954. Tobor is robot spelt backwards. If you have the money you can by a 1:1 scale ‘celebrity robot’ from http://www.the-robotman.com/, you could buy your own Tobor.


By Republic Pictures - source, Public Domain

Robby the Robot from the 1956 film Forbidden Planet.


image credit

Gort from the 1951 fiction film The Day the Earth Stood Still.


image credit

I have started on my own robot mural, partially inspired by theses little guys that I photographed in a shop in France. They look like an army of misfit robots!

Initial sketches of robots for mural.

Video 26 seconds long

So far I have applied the base colours to ‘Tobor’s friends’. It still has many more layers to go until it is finished and each robots personality is developed. Will they be good or bad robots? Will they take over your job? Will they take over the world?

Follow my progress @opheliafu

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center