Kurt Cobain Caricature (Dead Rockstar's Series 1 of 8)

kurt-cobain-long.jpg
Kurt Cobain Caricature, Dead Rockstars Series

First time I saw "Smells Like Teen Spirit" on MTV I was a fan.

I still remember when Nirvana hit my radar. When I first saw them I became a "Nirvana-head" and ever since I have considered Kurt Cobain a huge influence on me. I believe he changed rock forever from the 80s hair-metal style to the 90s grunge, altering how everyone views the "rockstar persona".

The piece above is from my "Dead Rockstar" series (of 8) which I created caricatures of some of my favorite rock musicians, guitarists who have really inspired me. I completed this piece while in college. I like to have a variety of styles I can paint from realism to caricature. This piece is mixed media, with airbrush, oil pastel and acrylic paint on a 16" x 20" canvas.

One of the common comments I receive on this piece is how often people do not see the shotgun at first glance. This gives the art a "second read" feel, as once you see it, you see it. Most people aware of Kurt Cobain are also aware of how he passed away. It is interesting that this is the second read detail that is most often overlooked on this piece.

image.png
Kurt Cobain - Source: wikipedia

I always had a deep appreciation for Nirvana and they really reshaped Rock and Roll - and what was acceptable to do and look to “ make it”. Bringing in a new punkesque look. Kinda like an "I don’t give a fuck whatever" clothing style. They weren't trend setters they were trend smashers, destroying some of the ridiculousness of 80s "Rock Glamour" and replacing it with a guy with ripped up blue jeans.

Punk rock, grunge, thrash, it was all there already. Its just they brought it to the mainstream music.

20201201_160845.jpg
Kurt Cobain is a direct influence on me as a guitarist

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency