painting a chicadee

Tonight, I studied one of my favorite birds, the Black-Capped Chicadee.

This is the Massachusetts state bird (Maine, too, I think!!)

The painting progress started off a little shaky (literally, see attempt 1), but I think my progress shows by the end!

my 4th attempt:

14xo48.jpg

I know it isn’t perfect but I am so so proud of this little guy, I think my improvement over the course of an hour is really evident!


my 3rd attempt:

uvs2hz.jpg

I like this guy a lot too, and think I got my proportions really well done.


My 2nd attempt:

7zrkfp.jpg

When I finished this one I was so impressed with myself, like “wow it really looks like I was trying to paint a bird” but I think the proportions are all wrong looking back.

I’m like a toddler when there mom says, “wow it’s a train” and they ACTUALLY were trying to draw a train!

Chubby lil guy.


my 1st attempt:

hczad5.jpg

❤️ feathers all rustled up !

XX Monique

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency