Queen of Hearts custom made castle from Disney Alice in Wonderland


I built this replica of Queen of Hearts castle model as a birthday gift for a patient of children’s hospital in California. It was commissioned by staff because it was her favorite building. In real life, it exists as decoration from the rooftop from Alice in Wonderland themed Banquet Hall at Disneyland in Tokyo.

I modeled it in few programs based on photos from the internet and printed in ABS on my 3d printer. It took 20hours to print main structure, with few outlines and hollow inside to save on printing time and material. To add extra strength I injected it with rigid polyurethane foam. Everything was sanded smooth and the mortar lines were cut by hand with a sharp knife. The finished product is 24x24cm and 25cm tall and only one exists in the entire world.

The painting was done with acrylics with many different colors to match original Queen of Hearts Banquet Hall.

The finishing touch was 2 golden roofs on top of tallest towers. They were also 3d printed hollow and blank and covered with laser cut paper roof tiles attached with superglue. I used this technique because cleaning 3d printed parts with that amount of detail and sculpting it digitally would take me too much time. Another good reason that sticking it by hand gave me randomness I would have difficulty to achieve in software. Few coats of black primer and dry brushed gold gave me realistic and weathered look.
To read more about this or other projects, visit http://themodelmaker.net . If you want to see more here, show me that by your upvotes and comments. Thanks!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
38 Comments
Ecency