Ram Drawing and Rstory

ram.jpg

This work was done in marker on paper.

Today I published a bad review of MyWish, the company that's failing to deliver my Rstory EOS tokens even though I paid them 67 EOS for the service several days ago. I rarely write negative articles about the crypto space and don't like doing so. But 67 EOS is approx $250. And Rstory is my pet project. I couldn't just let MyWish slide on something like this. If they correct the problem, I'll update the article to reflect that.

Meanwhile, I finished the Rstory website! It's been ages since I've made a website and I enjoyed the process more than I expected to. The trickiest bit was getting the contact form working on a static site on IPFS. But I got that done yesterday and also bought rstory.io. The site is live on IPFS but I'm having a hard time figuring out DNS/SSL for the IPFS site.

Specifically, I'm supposed to create a CNAME DNS record with the host value @ but I can't do it for the top level domain rstory.io, which is the name registered with Pinata's gateway service. I can create the record for a subdomain like crypto.rstory.io, but Pinata offers no ready means of changing my registered domain on their platform to crypto.rstory.io. Hopefully their customer support will sort it out.

Clearly, Rstory is shaping up to be a fair amount of work. But the more I do, the more I love it. The work isn't draining. It's energizing. And after a long month I'm still excited about the project.

I am a little worried that Rstory might be too weird. It's intended to be edgy, yet there's a fine line between edgy and alienating. Among other things, I'm saying I'll consider sending gratitude tokens to people who share their stories and allow me to incorporate these stories into unspecified future works. This is probably unusual, but I'm hoping it's the good kind of unusual.

Given the problems with Waves and MyWish, the TUDE on Ethereum is the only viable Rstory token right now. I was already planning to do the organizational giveaways on ETH because Metamask makes ETH user friendly. The problem with ETH is the fees. For example, it cost five dollars for me to do a TUDE test transfer. I was going to use EOS to get around the fees involved with transferring Rstory to many individuals, but that's on pause due to MyWish. So Ethereum it is.

That's okay. Ethereum is great by me. My dreams of multichain swap contracts will have to wait. Since I'm just starting out, focusing on an ERC20 token makes sense. That means Rstory needs to stand out among ten thousand other uninteresting coins. I'm not sure I can make that happen in any big way. So small ways it is.

When I run across an organization serving the public good in a way that I like, I'll offer to transfer tokenized gratitude to them and write a blog post about it. My plan is to do this for a few months and see how it goes. This plan has a catch. @rstory only has 13 followers. A blog post on a blog with 13 followers has limited appeal. Even if it's a really good blog post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency