MAKING OF A DRAGON WITH A 4-YEAR-OLD ARTIST

DSC_0738.JPG

Since school got cancelled today and we could not go outside because of the rain, I decided to keep my son busy by asking him to paint. Painting is one of his favourite activities.

DSC_0707.JPG

So far I used to let him do the background for my paintings. It was a win-win situation for both of us.

DSC_0708.JPG

He was having fun and I was getting an unique texture to start with.

DSC_0709.jpg

Seeing that he was really into painting I promoted him to having his own canvas.

DSC_0710.JPG

He was more than thrilled to hear that he was allowed to use acrylic colours and create his own masterpiece.

DSC_0711.JPG

Right away he asked for some of my tools (brushes, knives, wedges, etc.) and incorporated even some of his own plastic toys that he used as stamps.

DSC_0712.JPG

Today he asked me to be his assistant which was really funny.

DSC_0714.JPG

Thus I got to open the tubes of paint for him, wash the tools he had used during the creating process and paint and edges of his masterpiece.

DSC_0716.JPG

At first he applied some blobs of yellow paint directly on the canvas, like a pro, as you saw in the photos above.

DSC_0721.JPG

Then he moved on slowly and added more blobs of different colours all over the canvas.

DSC_0722.JPG

Then with a palette knife he spread the paint in different directions, blending the colours.

DSC_0723.JPG

Each time he used the palette knife, I was asked to clean it for him. Being his assistant, I conformed with his request right away.

DSC_0724.JPG

Plus I did not wish to have paint all over the kitchen.

DSC_0725.jpg

By the end of the painting, I already had to remove the acrylic paint from the wall and chair, where he had left his tiny fingerprints.

DSC_0726.JPG

Once he almost covered the entire surface of the canvas with paint, he added more blobs of colour which he pressed on with the palette knife in order to create various types of texture.

DSC_0729.JPG

Then he asked me cover one corner of the canvas with the net from the tangerine box. Placing the net on top of the blobs of paint, followed by a smooth movement of levelling the excess paint with the palette knife gave a beautiful effect of scaled skin. As soon as he saw it, he said that he was painting me a dragon. I could not take photos of this step, as I was involved in the process.

DSC_0730.JPG

Then he focused on the remaining white areas of his canvas. He added more paint and used either the knife or the sponge to cover the white spots.

DSC_0733.jpg

He dabbed the paint on with the sponge in several layers which built depth.

DSC_0735.jpg

Pressing the thick layer of paint with the palette knife created irregular pattern and gave the impression of foliage.

DSC_0736.JPG

Let's have one more look at the final result!

DSC_0738.JPG

What do you think about the Dragon? Not bad for a 4 year old, right?

I LOVE IT!!!

Let me know in the comments if you'd like to see more of his paintings!

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself. If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
41 Comments
Ecency