Commissioned Colored Pencil Portrait on 9x12 by ligarayk

Yooo! How is it going? It's really been a while since I posted an art related content. I got really busy with a lot of things. Especially these days, the freaking virus is still roaming around so most of the places are still on lockdown. Well, hopefully everything's going to be fine soon soon ~

Anyway, I will be sharing to you guys one of my latest commisioned portraits and the process how I made it.



The final output.

Colored pencils on 9x12 pad

IMG20210403160221.jpg

I used Prisma Premiere Colored Pencil for this portrait which I recently bought. It's actually my first time using that brand since I'm kinda used to FCCCP or Faber-Castell Classic Colored Pencils. Honestly, I could really tell the difference and it's my new favorite now. Also, the portrait is kind of mixed-media since I used ink for the hair.


The reference.

3.jpg


Materials I used.

IMG20210403233431.jpg


The Process


Now, I'm going to show you the process.
I sketched the outline first so I would get an overview on the proportions of the face. Also, It would be easier for me to do the details after that.

IMG20210401121208.jpg


Actually I cheated.

I'm going to tell you a secret. I actually used a forbidden technique in fine arts to get the exact proportion of the face and other features lol.

I think It's called stenciling (not really sure since I just recently practiced it) Wherein I printed out the reference then shaded the back portion of it using a pencil covering up the whole figure. After that, I put the shaded reference on top of my canvas then traced the outline of the face and all essential details on the reference paper, leaving or transferring a mark on the canvas until the whole figure is formed. Like a carbon paper.

Anyway, I started adding up some colors for the skin tone. I used burnishing and overlaying techniques. I actually added a lot of layers to achieve the exact or at least the closest color for the skin.

IMG20210401131652_1.jpg


Then I continued adding color and details to the face, neck and the upper body (polo).

IMG20210403154620.jpg


Lastly, I did the hair using a marker and added a layer of black colored pencil on top of it. Also added some white strokes on the hair for the highlights and finished the mouth. Then it's done!

IMG20210403160215.jpg



That's all for today and I hope you like it! There will be more art related contents sooooon. Thank you!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency