Half a Year of Dailies

half a year_compressed.jpg

Hey guys, so this is what I've been up to in my spare time :D I already passed half a year of dailies and felt it was time to do an update post. I originally announced the challenge in this post. Can't believe how fast the time flew by. Also last week was my anniversary of minting my first NFT :D Got a new Adventure piece ready for that, but I delayed because I'm still finalizing the description.

Also it hasn't been even a month since my last post, progress! xD

January.jpg
January Dailies

My goal is to do 1 full year of dailies. So far I've reached day 204. As my sleep schedule is irregular my only rule is to post before sleep at night. This challenge is harder than expected and there have been a few days when I almost missed the day, jumping out of bed to do a quick sketch with finger on phone. I'll probably end the challenge after a full year as this is really energy and time consuming, and I have plenty of projects I want to dedicate more time to. The main goal here is practicing self discipline, to see if I can manage one year. I'm happy with roughly 1/3rd of the dailies, a few I've turned into full paintings and some I plan to develop further in the future.

February.jpg
February Dailies

That turtle was my very first sketch on new drawing tablet, I felt it was really fitting as I was drawing a lot slower as I wasn't used to drawing on a monitor tablet. I've gotten used to it since and wouldn't want to go back to old tablet. That was one of the first big investments from NFT sales. :)

March.jpg
March Dailies

As you may notice I use a lot of blue and purple, but I also try to get out of my comfort zone occasionally. Recently I did a first VR daily, I'm still learning the app, but I might do a month of VR dailies before the end of the year.

April.jpg
April Dailies

I listen to a lot of music while drawing and music often affects the mood of the paintings.

May_compressed.jpg
May Dailies

I recently finished the mermaid artwork above. I love how she turned out plan to share more details soon. Overall I have a lot of projects and paintings half done and it's so difficult to prioritize and finish them, instead I seem to just start the next thing instead :P The disadvantage of dailies for me is I get sidetracked easily and dailies are exacerbating that issue, looking forward to finishing the challenge and seeing how next year will be different.

June.jpg
June Dailies

For July I tried doing Adventure Series dailies, but only succeeded half a month, as those are the most difficult ones and I'm more self critical of them. I'm really happy with the few that I did make, and will try to develop them further eventually. I'd love to do a comic and have been researching more about comics and storytelling but I'm unlikely to start this year.

June_2_153.jpg

Adventure Series- Dark Techy Fantasy Scene.

January_21.jpg

Hands Photo Study- I used this as a practice for Discovering Light painting I used my hands for poses, but the practice helped me with deciding colors and what details to focus on.

March_22_81.jpg

Sleeping Kitty- Finger Drawing on phone, I've done roughly 10-15 finger drawings so far.

Lately as I've been feeling more tired, so I've been mostly doing pet dailies, where I sketch people's pets that they share on Twitter. It's really fun, easier and faster as I have a photo to use for reference. I'll continue this until the end of the month and then see how to continue next month.

July_17_198.jpg

This kitty was one of the recent pet dailies, the owner and I loved how it turned out so I finished it and tokenized 10 editions. Sent one to the cat owner and the rest already sold out <3

https://rarible.com/token/0x1496640fc4bdfd7ee6361894f5eefe1f5f297c6d:10004?tab=owners

Overall I probably won't tokenize most of these dailies, but the few favorites are worth the whole lot, because they wouldn't exist otherwise, for example Spring Bloom started out as a daily sketch. Still there are quite a few dailies that I really like as ideas but need a lot of work to make into final paintings.

I post new dailies on my Twitter and you can also check out the previous ones in bigger resolutions here:

More Close Ups:

January_6.jpg

June_21_172.jpg

March_3_62 Hidden and Found.jpg

March_14_73 Sea of Stars.jpg

May_18_138.jpg

May_27_147.jpg

Thank you for checking out! <333

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency